We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcrowded, average food, noisy”

Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #20 of 362 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, average food, noisy”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not the sort of place you go to have a beer and relax. At night it is even worse, elbow to elbow people, a fight to get the bar. The smokers area is overcrowded and there are very few seats. You are forced to stand in an awkward corner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bdahye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    190
    81
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good laugh”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A bunch of us went to Shenannigans on Christmas Eve and had a really good time. We shared a few plates of nibbles - wedges, dips and breads all of which were great. The drinks are a little on the pricey side, but you get your moneys worth in the entertainment value in watching drunken karoke singers!!

Overall a very lively pub where everyone was having a good time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were not happy at all with the slopped drinks all over the floor. 2 of my workmates slipped over and hurt themselves (one of them twice) on the way back from the ladies. No they were not wearing exceptionally high heels. Floor needs cleaning more often.

Helpful?
Thank Donna8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“just the place to chill”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

although its a while since I was in Shenannigans bar I still remember the friendly banter, (with us poms) the quiz night and the food I have always recommended my friends to go here, and some just having returned support my view,it is a great place to visit when your up at the top end

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Staff too busy chatting and joking amongst themselves to provide really good service. Otherwise, good location and décor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CurtVuorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing