We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great natural attraction”

Berry Springs Nature Park
Ranked #8 of 120 things to do in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Berry Springs Nature Park, is a great location close to Darwin where you can enjoy a refreshing swim and a BBQ. A great place to unwind after spending a day at the Territory Wildlife Park. Please check our website for access to swimming. During the wet season, October-April, the pools may be closed when swimming is considered to be unsafe.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great natural attraction”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We all enjoyed an evening swim after the Territory Wildlife Park. It was clean, fun and free. The water is a constant 29 C . Three pools are available, the top and middle pools are the nicest, we swam up the creek from the middle to the top pool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 616ingas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    219
    49
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OMG, SOOOOO good”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Waterfall, warm clear water, fish, not too crowded. What more could you ask? We spent an entire afternoon just lazing about in the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisafaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My idea of heaven”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

About an hour's drive from Darwin this is an easy day trip. We went mid-week and while there were people about it wasn't crowded. There are signs making it easy to find. Take lunch, but no bottles as glass isn't allowed. The Rainbow Café was closed when we were there, but there are plenty of tables and benches. The area is very well kept with change rooms and toilets. Take sunscreen, of course, and insect repellent. The biteys are ubiquitous in this part of the world.

The main attraction is the water, which gushes from a spring. It is fresh and clear, and a perfect temperature. There are three main spots for swimming - the waterfall, the Main Pool, and the Lower Pool. Both the latter have ladders giving easy access. They are deep in parts, you can't stand up in them, so either swim, tread water, or bring a flotation device. They are beautiful pools fringed with tropical pandanus and palms, with bird life around. Bobbing at the surface you can see dragonflies in iridescent colours. It is truly heavenly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathlynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamaga, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A cool spot for a swim”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Berry Springs is a great place for a family Picnic or BBQ. You can cool off in the pools and relax. Lots of shady trees and good toilet facilities. Parking can sometimes be difficult as it is a popular spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarraBabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax in warm spring water”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed Berry Springs are one of our favourite places to swim on our 2 week trip through the top end and Kimberley. Lovely warm waters, a small waterfall that you can swim behind, plus different pools to spread the load of visitors and places to explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berry Springs Nature Park also viewed

 

Been to Berry Springs Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing