We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, service meh”
Review of Yum Cha Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Yum Cha Chinese Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great food, service meh”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

The food here is great. I had the yum cha combo (salt and pepper chicken, BBQ pork and roast duck) and the bf had crispy chicken. It was all delicious but next time I go I'll be ordering a chilli salsa or something on the side as the combo was just served with sweet chilli. The service was pretty average but not too bad. I went through four 'wine by the glass' selections before I found one they had in stock. I'm not sure if it was just a difficult time with end of month and wine orders or something

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Always boiling water, wait too long for tea. Waitress took the orders but never come back. Dishes not come at the same time and can be half an hour late.Especially on Sundays ,always very hard to get served.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
704 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Ok yum cha experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

To start with I love yum cha, so maybe my expectations are high. I think this is the only place in Darwin that still offers yum cha, so they've got a monopoly over it, however was quite disappointed with this place. Don't get me wrong the food was great, but the service was pretty slow and uninviting. We were the first group in there and had to keep chasing up the waiters to ring the food. For yum cha I expect the for to be coming out so quickly you don't have a chance to realise you're full!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have eaten here on several occasions. Service I found was o.k. Food is nice and well priced. Quite an old building that could require a facelift.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunsie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“best place to party”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

the service and food was really good and lovely ... we booked the function room and enjoyed the karaoke... in total i highly recommend it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Cha Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing