We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good vietnamese for Northern Territory.”

Vietnamese Saigon Star
Ranked #110 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very good vietnamese for Northern Territory.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Price is cheap and quality is good. One of my favourite restaurant in Darwin. I always go there when I’m in Darwin. Would recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pineapple_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    82
    41
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Was also able to use my IPad while enjoying good Vietnamese food.ip would definitely return to this Resturant again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullaloo, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pho”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Had the pork and wonton soup. Was very tasty and a good size. Sliced pork was tasty also. All for only $12.50. Might wanna serve some hotter chillies though.

Helpful?
Thank BigMac666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappoint with food !”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I got a basic chicken cashew , plenty of chicken with the meal , chicken was stringy and waste less .
Would never go back in a hurry

Helpful?
Thank Kiz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Hair mixed with bean sprouts, slow service, very disappointed”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have dined here on numerous occasions in the past and they were fairly good. Yesterday, I came here with 5 others just after 11:30 am. There were already some people in the restaurant but it wasn't busy. However, it still took about 40 mins for the first meal to arrive. When my side plate of bean sprouts with chillies and a lemon wedge arrived as accompaniment to my egg noodle soup with wontons and bbq pork, there was a long black hair intertwined with the bean sprouts. I spotted it right away and ask for it to be replaced. The meals came out one at a time. The person who got their meal first waited for awhile until everyone had their meal in front of them. By then only the last person who was served had a hot meal. Everyone else were cold. Furthermore, one of the meals we ordered was not cooked as ordered. We specifically requested vegetables to go with the chicken fried rice and when the meal arrived there wasn't a single vegetable present in the dish, just a lot of dried up fried rice with a bit of fried egg and some chicken pieces. Very disappointed.

I'm not sure if I will return to this restaurant again. I was extremely disappointed with the slow service and the fact that they could not get it together to bring the meals at the same time. NO ONE likes to sit and wait for a long time for others to get their meal and NO ONE wants to eat a cold meal.

It seems that service has slipped since I last dined here. The only thing that hasn't changed is that the lunch menu is still reasonably priced, this is probably the only saving grace for Saigon Star.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnamese Saigon Star also viewed

 

Been to Vietnamese Saigon Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing