We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic indeed!”

The Magic Wok Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic indeed!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love the Magic Wok for a fresh and filling lunch. You select the meat, vegies, sauce and noodles you want and hand it over to the chef to cook up in front of you. Price is by weight.
Not the cheapest option but then nothing is cheap in Darwin and I have always been really happy with my meal and the service here which is a lot more than you can say for a lot of other places in Darwin.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBrown162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    39
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They got the name right!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

At first I was a little "put out". You have to select your own food, piece by piece; but then we got into the swing of the thing. You choose your own ingredients from fresh vegetables and meat and it's all cooked for you in a few minutes. Great friendly service and sensational food. Top marks from me and my dinner companions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NevilleG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I Love this place”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When I lived in Darwin I fell in love with place. You collect your meat, and they have everything from fish, prawns to buffalo, crocodile and emu and others. You then collect whatever vegies you want, select your sauce and give it to the man who works his magic, while you watch. They hand you meal back to you in a small wok. Very clean restaurant and a wonderful atmosphere. One of things I miss about Darwin. This was one of my most favourite places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch - and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love this place. You collect your raw veg, meat, seafood and then pick your noodles and favour. It gets hot wok cooked, and then it is with you. Great service for extras, and friendly atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Allways a great place to eat.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent food, great service, food choice is vast as are the choice of sauces. Food is cooked in front of you and super fast. The food is fresh & just so good.

The Magic wok is by far one of my favorite restaurants in Darwin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joesph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic Wok Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Magic Wok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing