We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hidden gem”
Review of Roma Bar Cafe

Roma Bar Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Darwin
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little hidden gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is my regular cafe, it has home made food and the coffee is strong and well made. I can't really say anything bad. It does get busy but I have never had to wait for my food. Love it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    23
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best coffee in town”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Always friendly, worth the wait when busy. Fantastic brunch, interesting specials. Been that way for 20+ years

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Definitely competing for "Best coffee in Darwin" title”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Coffee = flavoursome, aromatic & consistently served at the correct temperature and strength. Should consider introducing beans from the great coffee regions around the world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junior_Flintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Darwin's Underbelly”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the cafe that has been the scene for many plots, revolutions, uprisings and the birth of great social agendas - both local and overseas. It is well known for the clientele that regularly meet there. The food is always fantastic - simple and delicious. The indian breakfast is a special treat. But what makes the Roma Bar especially good is their coffee. It is the best coffee in town - strong and always consistent. If you are visiting Darwin - go for breakfast and have two coffee's - you will be able to leap tall buildings - probably for the rest of the day!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great place for a breaky and chat”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is one of the more popular cafes in Darwin, and you can see why. We arrived at peak breakfast time on a saturday and after scoping out a lovely table (someone was leaving so we hovered) we sat to enjoy our breaky. As usual for Darwin, not super cheap, but not expensive either. I had the vego breaky and apart from being served haloumi instead of feta (really not a problem for a cheese lover like me) I was very satisfied. My friend had the dahl (indian breakfast) and chomped it down. Coffees were lovely as was the atmosphere. One of the nicer places with a bit of atmosphere in Darwin-lovely service and nice little surrounds

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Bar Cafe also viewed

Darwin, Top End
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Roma Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing