We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nirvana Restaurant

Nirvana Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 359 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazed how this venue is still going so strong after so many years and it has not changed a great deal!?
The food is amazing and never get sick of it!
The music on jam night is great as is the Friday nights where the locals come out in their droves to hear a great duo play.
Can't complain about any point of this venue except it should do home delivery!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmochelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    26
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nirvana Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food, atmosphere and service. Can be a little noisy at times but part of the experience. Live music is also often on the menu. Good selection of refreshments.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ntfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I first discovered this restaurant over a year ago and now it is one of my favourite restaurants in Darwin. The food is always delicious (my personal favourite is the lamb korma) and the cocktails they make are fantastic. It's also great that you can choose to sit in the far back room for a more quieter dining experience, or you can sit in the front and enjoy the live band. I always recommend Nirvana to everyone I know.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarinah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Ambience and Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Place has been tastefully decorated with the Bar and lounge at the front and the Restaurant at the back. It was quite amazing how the music does not sound overly loud in the restaurant and gives it a nice peaceful ambience.
Food was great and priced very reasonably. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. They took the orders promptly and delivered. We did not have to wait for more than 15 minutes for any dish.
Definitely recommended and will be going back with friends. I reckon it is the best Indian and Malay restaurant in town when you compare to Saffron, Hanuman, Cafe Kashmir and Garam Masala.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyCBRRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An oldie but not so goodie!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went, sans reservation, last week after an art exhibition close by, initially there were no tables for 3 available but as we were about to retreat a miraculous discovery produced a table, oddly enough next to 3 equally empty tables! The bar service was prompt and efficient and orders taken quickly for the food, the good bit stopped there, we all had entrees, mine was a pair of pappadums, a chapatti cut into 3 and some very indifferent chutney and what appeared to be cole slaw plus there was a pink goo, possibly aging taramosalata. The rice parcels almost reasonable but the sausage things on satay sticks cold in the middle (One of the photos show these delacacies!) We gave up there and had desserts, the 'afogato' resembled nothing I had ever imagined, diluted butterscotch schnapps, coffee and pandanus(green!) icecream, the banana fritters good bot the 3 sweet selection bilious. Just under $100 the lot. Nirvana is tired and the microwave probably overworked. Ho Hum!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydnpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing