We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place”
Review of Nirvana Restaurant

Nirvana Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 376 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Love the Malay food here, and the bohemien atomosphere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Takemewithyou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    97
    26
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Had a surprise bday party her for my bro. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and food!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fitboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge cocktail list, tasty food and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my husband after a few friends recommended it to me. The menu offers a variety of asian inspired meals, I settled for a seafood dish and my husband picked a chicken dish. Both meals were served in a timely manner, were nice and hot and all the ingredients were very fresh. We were not drinking that evening, but I took a look at the drinks list and there was an impressive amount of different cocktails to choose from, all reasonably priced. Towards the end of the Evening, there was a bellydance show which added a bit of atmosphere to the restaurants quirky decor. This is a great place if you are after a casual dinner with friends or significant other - don't forget the cocktails!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank VV82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Darwin locals faviurite”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been going to Nirvana for years and still good food, great wine list, excellent service and the atmosphere is very comfortable - plus they often have good live music - its the best in darwin

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I live nearby so have eaten here heaps. Took visiting family her last week. Was again excellent, SE Asian/Indian food, nice relaxing atmosphere, good value. I always have a good experience here, and so keep coming back. My favorite 'local'.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinceDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing