We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Food”
Review of Hanuman Restaurant

Hanuman Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $67
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hanuman Darwin first opened its doors in 1992. Originally located at the Bennet Street end of Mitchell Street, the restaurant moved to its current location late 2007.We are delighted with the new setting. As part of the Holiday Inn Esplanade complex the restaurant incorporates a beautiful deck dining area and stylish cocktail bar.With seating for 90 people outside and a further 90 inside, be prepared to immerse yourself in a truly exotic experience. The furnishings, tableware and artworks have been sourced from around the world and the lighting will take your breath away.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Service & Food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have been to Darwin three times over the past six months...and glad to say hanuman has been my favorite restaurant , the consistency in excellent service is awesome...I have tried different dishes in every three occasion..... the Signature Oysters is highly recommend for anyone who would like to visit this great Asian restaurant. Definitely will be back in my next trip. Cheers

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jovaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear jovaseven,

Thank you for your complimenting review of your dining experiences with us.

We are pleased to read that Hanuman is your restaurant of choice when in Darwin.

Consistently offering good food and attentive, personalised service to our guests has always been a top priority for us and something we are proud of.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    535
    184
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“To die for oysters, best flavours and great service”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Food absolutely divine better tasting oysters and curry than I have ever tasted in Brisbane. Prices reasonable and matched quality and favours of product. Outstanding service, very personalised and provided comedy all night. Highly recommend oysters, will be back again next time in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kristy R,

Thank you for a complimenting review.

We try to deliver a truly unique and distinctive dining experience. An emphasis is placed on skilfully prepared authentic mix of Southeast Asian dishes and providing attentive service to our guests.

And yes, our freshly prepared and delicious Hanuman Oysters continue to be our signature entrée. It would be a remiss if we did not mention this for oyster lovers out there!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hanuman has a good name locally but I don't think many of these people have ever tasted authentic flavours and fresh produce.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Isabel12342014,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

Hanuman has been serving its guests for over twenty-one years. We are proud to claim that our kitchen is staffed by experienced, traditionally-trained Thai and Indian chefs.

All staff at Hanuman, both Front and Back of the House, take this utmost pride in what and how we serve our guests.

We have noted your comments and wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, paradise point
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best Butter Chicken Eva. Quality ingredients used.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When I think back on my 6 month experience of a Darwin I alway remember the one restiatant that stuck out from the rest as the best! My husband always said, the food in a Darwin was rubbish, I always argued and said, you never visited Hunuman!!!!

Nothing was spared to create the 'best butter chicken' I've ever tasted. Thick juicy succulent chicken breasts with a roasted cashew nut purée. That started off the best night in Darwin for me and my girls. We also had a beautiful bottle of wine to wash it all down.
Between three women, we had a starters ( stretched out for three), butter chicken and rice with wine set us back $150.

Do not over order as portions are huge and filling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iloveyourfood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear iloveyourfood2,

Thank you for your kind comments and commendation.

We are pleased to read that we have made quite a lasting and memorable impression on you whilst dining with us. We are proud that you have ranked us so high from the rest as the best!

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hanumans is always busy but for good reason. The food here is top notch. I'd suggest making a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dean0rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear dean0rock,

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall dining experience with us.

Your words of praise on our authentic cuisine encourages us to scale greater heights of excellence.

Thank you for your commendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanuman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing