We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Restaurant”
Review of Hanuman Restaurant

Hanuman Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 362 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $66
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Singaporean, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hanuman Darwin first opened its doors in 1992. Originally located at the Bennet Street end of Mitchell Street, the restaurant moved to its current location late 2007.We are delighted with the new setting. As part of the Holiday Inn Esplanade complex the restaurant incorporates a beautiful deck dining area and stylish cocktail bar.With seating for 90 people outside and a further 90 inside, be prepared to immerse yourself in a truly exotic experience. The furnishings, tableware and artworks have been sourced from around the world and the lighting will take your breath away.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Hanuman Restaurant is located in the central entertainment strip of Darwin and is opposite the Performing Arts Center. It is an up-market, quality restaurant that serves exquisite Thai curries and other delightful dishes. The wine list is also extensive. The food and beverage bill will not be cheap, but then you are paying for a culinary experience you will never forget. The mushroom dish as an entree is a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Rob255066,

Thank you for a great review and commendation.

We strive to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we have exceeded their expectations on the level of quality of our authentic cuisine to match the fine wines we offer. Your comments have made this all the more rewarding for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    530
    184
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best Thai food in darwin”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

some of the best thai food outside of Thailand. Have dined there many times and always a high standard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Trevor D,

We are delighted to read that you consistently enjoy your overall dining experiences with us and that you are positively impressed with our Thai dishes.

Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had good time!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Wow had a wonderful evening at Hanuman, the guy on the counter was very impressive with his attentiveness and top food choice, we suppose to order with our dishes and the man said you should have different things in different place which we liked... He was right! Then my wife asked him ok what you ganna feed us good tonight, he then asked what are you hoping to have? Gave options of chicken, lamb, fish,other seafood, beef, veggie! We said fish and beef with some veggie.
And asked again do you like mushrooms,yes.,.! Then he wanted to surprise us he didn't say what he ganna give us?
When entree came was impressive in one nibble he won us, in few minutes mains came with yellow Soucy barra which was mild then beef curry with mid.spicy and side of green + cheese naan with garlic top and serve of rice which was perfect combination and superb amount of food we we're expecting,finished with cream burlee was also gentle man choice, how could it goes wrong???
It was busy night and all the staffs were running around trying to make people please with their efforts,Hats off guys!!!!
Supervisor, he was just energetic !we were watching, he was every where, almost doing everything, having workers like these people owner must be blessed!
Thank you Mr Superman Supervisor you made our Darwin trip awesome!!
Just love it.
See you some other time!

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Rajesh P,

We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable and memorable dining experience with us and that our authentic Southeast Asian cuisine and attentive service has exceeded your expectations.

In a team driven environment where we believe in the lasting and positive difference, Pramosh plays an integral part in our operations and guest services. We have passed on your kind comments to him.

Thank you for a complimenting review and commendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“great staff and service second to none ............”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were given excellent service. Warm very welcoming greetings. The service is second to none. The staff were friendly and always willing to help going beyond the extra mile.Also not to forget Very tasty food served within a short time from ordering. Will most certainly recommend this restaurant to friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munnu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear munnu2014,

Thank you for a great review and recommendation.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your evening with us and that our food and service has thoroughly met your expectations. Your experience has aptly reflected the dining standards we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive but good food”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

For Darwin this is one of the better restaurants in terms of food. There are extensive menu options. The duck salad and trumpet mushrooms are my favourites.

But it certainly comes at a cost if this were Sydney or Melbourne it would be far too expensive, but this is Darwin and for Darwin it's expensive without being outrageous.

The service can be patchy. My experience this week was good but last time it was ordinary.

They have a fairly good takeaway service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMinDRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear BMinDRW,

Thank you for taking time to review and recommend the wonderful and authentic flavors of our Southeast Asian cuisine.

However, we regret any instance and sincerely apologise that you did not experience the expected level of consistency in service and attention that you have come to expect from us.

We have taken note of your constructive feedback which is essential for us to continually improve our offer and service to better reflect our commitment to guest satisfaction.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanuman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing