We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great feed.”
Review of Hanuman Restaurant

Hanuman Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 362 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $67
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Singaporean, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hanuman Darwin first opened its doors in 1992. Originally located at the Bennet Street end of Mitchell Street, the restaurant moved to its current location late 2007.We are delighted with the new setting. As part of the Holiday Inn Esplanade complex the restaurant incorporates a beautiful deck dining area and stylish cocktail bar.With seating for 90 people outside and a further 90 inside, be prepared to immerse yourself in a truly exotic experience. The furnishings, tableware and artworks have been sourced from around the world and the lighting will take your breath away.
Darwin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always a great feed.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We took our interstate visitors here last week to sample some of Darwin's finest food and they were impressed. We had two courses and they were a culinary delight. Its hard to go past the magnificent hanuman oysters and trumpet mushrooms and we followed this up with some tasty curries. Our service was great, the wine list has plenty to offer. No wonder I keep coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarwinWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    529
    184
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational meal”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We went as a large group for a 30th birthday and ordered a banquet. Food was great, the service was good and the night was enjoyed by all. Would definitely go back again

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing, bland, boring, reheated food.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had great expectations based on reviews and awards. The service was friendly and the atmosphere charming. However the Tom Yum soup with its rubbery frozen prawns had an overriding flavour of gluggy coconut milk. No chillies. No subtlety. Inedible. The Vindaloo beef was a generous serve of tasteless beef swimming in a bland curry base. The raita was made with sweetened yoghurt! The timing of our order and the arrival of the dishes to our table indicated that they had not been cooked to order. Not what you would expect at these prices. The service staff however were brilliant, shame about the absolutely awful food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The dishes were a taste sensation.....however”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I cannot complain about the flavoursome dishes that were placed in front of our table of four. The menu was explained when we asked questions, although I did not ask about my prawn dish which I was a little disappointed. The most expensive but the least impressive with just prawns on the plate and no veg or sauce. Had it been a shared dish then that MAY have been ok. The time between out entree and main was to be 15 minutes...which turned into 30 minutes and was rather coolish when it arrived unfortunately. We did inform them of this when asked how the meal was and the waitress implied this was for our safety that it was not hot!!!!
We asked about a banquet to share among the table so we could taste many dishes but it had to be for 6 persons so couldnt do that, shame as when you dont know what to order a nice array of dishes is nice so you know what you would order next visit. Would go again and see if it was a little different on another night. Would have to be a special occasion as it is quite expensive and none of us had wine/beer, only mocktails and water so could have added another $70 easily to our $200 meal for 4 and that did not have desserts. Holidays are for being extravagant and the price would not deter us from another visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas 2013”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Good flavoured and selection however no idea between timing with entree and mains Served at same time. When reserved mains it was cold. Very disappointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanuman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing