We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good indian veg food”
Review of Hanuman Restaurant

Hanuman Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 391 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $70
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hanuman Darwin first opened its doors in 1992. Originally located at the Bennet Street end of Mitchell Street, the restaurant moved to its current location late 2007.We are delighted with the new setting. As part of the Holiday Inn Esplanade complex the restaurant incorporates a beautiful deck dining area and stylish cocktail bar.With seating for 90 people outside and a further 90 inside, be prepared to immerse yourself in a truly exotic experience. The furnishings, tableware and artworks have been sourced from around the world and the lighting will take your breath away.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We got takeaway from here, lovely Kofta curry, tasty samosas and great Dahl. Would recommend. We didn't actually dine in, but it looked like a nice place to eat - no thongs policy :)

Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Cora S,

Thank you for your recommendation and review.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed our vegetarian dishes filled with traditional Indian flavors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,310 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of Hanuman's strengths is their consistancy. I've dined there several times and the quality of food and their service is always good. You're guaranteed a good feed. My favourites are their Samosas, Masala fried fish, Malai Kofta and their mock/cocktail 'Hanuman tea'. Like any good restaurant, they get very busy during weekends, so book a table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srir4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear srir4m,

Thank you for your comments on our consistency in providing you with quality, well-prepared meals and good service.

We are pleased that you continue to enjoy your dining experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visit this restaurant every time we stay in Darwin. The food is delicious, though we do tend to stick to the same dishes. The Thai noodles are probably the best Pad Thai we've had, and the curries are lovely. Would also highly recommend the tasting plate for entree, and for a mocktail the Sundowner is delicious!

If you want to get in on a weekend, make sure you book early! We have called the day of or the day before many times and the earliest table has been 9pm. Also, we prefer to sit outside, as inside can be a bit chilly and also quite noisy. The atmosphere outside is a lot more open relaxing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aussieNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear aussieNT,

Thank you for your favorable review and recommendation.

We are especially pleased that Hanuman has been your restaurant of choice when in Darwin and that you continue to enjoy your overall dining experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanuman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Expected this restaurant to be top notch having read other reviews. The layout and decor inside was nice and it had a good atmosphere. The menu was reasonably limited and is a mixture of Indian, Thai etc. the staff were quite friendly but different people were serving us.

After ordering food we were expecting the usual 15 - 20 min wait. However, in what felt like less than five minutes the meals arrived. If I had been with kids that would have been perfect but in a nice restaurant you hope that it will be cooked to order. The rice was cold and the red curry indifferent (could just be personal taste).

All in all it was ok but not as good as expected.

Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Simon G,

Thank you for your informative review and feedback.

We are very sorry that your meal did not live up to the level of quality that you have come to expect from us.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen again.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanuman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by many locals who heard we were visiting Darwin. I enjoyed it but only to a degree. for example, the mixed entree was adequate but the whole fish was over-cooked so that the flesh of the fish was rather dry and hard. By contrast the chicken curry, of a type I hadn't had before was delicious. Good wine list, attentive and friendly service nd the outdoor dining area was great. Sadly the food was mixed in quality but if one got to know the menu and which dishes to choose, I am sure it would be a great experience. Quite expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hanuman_DRW, Manager at Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear John P,

Thank you for your informative review and constructive feedback.

We sincerely apologise that the Thai Crispy Whole Fish served was of unacceptable standard.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that we have taken note of your valuable comments and are working on improving and ensuring the consistency in taste and presentation of our dishes.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanuman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing