We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great hour with my 10yr old son 😃

A great thing to add to the normal sight seeing things in Darwin Best track we have been too as... read more

Reviewed April 27, 2019
677narelled
,
Hobart, Australia
via mobile
Wonderful experience

We called in on our last day in Darwin. Hubby had a 10 minute ride, and thoroughly enjoy it. The... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
sharniesheehan
,
Devonport, Australia
Read all 27 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Darwin
from $48.03
More Info
from $104.42
More Info
from $166.02
More Info
from $42.46
More Info
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
23
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
23
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fun track race helmets session safety challenging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

I thought it was a bit pricy but they are powerful carts and stiff steering so they take some skill to get good times. The professional lap time was 56 sec and I did it in 59 so I was pleased with the facility and the material. Good safety explanation and friendly staff.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MikeL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Owner at Darwin Kart Hire, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, It is always pleasing to hear our customers enjoyed our Kart Hire

If you are interested in technical explanation

Having a fast flowing circuit with high cornering loads means you are constantly holding the steering against the cornering G Force loads. Motor racing is a world of compromises, for instance if we fitted harder tires the steering would be lighter but you would slide more and not be as fast, if we changed to steering ratio to make it lighter but you would have to turn the steering wheel a lot further, which means slower response and we find that a lot more people spin out, if you make the kart lighter it doesn't last and we have to keep welding the cracks
If we move the front wheels in (narrower track) there would be less load but the karts would under-steer. So we are left with a karts that is well balanced, very responsive to steering corrections has high cornering speed, last a long time but has heavy steering.

Going fast and looking slow = Skill

Well done on your 59 sec lap, getting under a minute is a good goal!
56 is really fast and not really achievable unless you are say less than 70 kg

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We called in on our last day in Darwin. Hubby had a 10 minute ride, and thoroughly enjoy it. The whole package from carts to staff were excellent.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sharniesheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Owner at Darwin Kart Hire, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank-you , we try to make your experience memorable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

I visited here with a group of work colleagues.
The place is easy to find near Hidden Valley Motorsport Park and the people are all very friendly and accommodating. The safety brief and track advice was great.
Our group had a great time. The karts are fast and the track is very challenging. The sessions were of great length and by the end our arms were killing us but it was worth it.
There is a strong emphasis on safety. The brief is comprehensive and they have a remote kill switch that slows all the karts in the event of a mishap.
It's my second time here - my last visit was years ago. But it's a great outing and I strongly recommend it, whether in a family, or with a bunch of mates.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank taylmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Owner at Darwin Kart Hire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Hello Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to wright a comprehensive review for us. It is gratifying to know that our efforts to give you greats service are appreciated. looking forward to seeing you once again.


Thank you,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Did 3 10 minute rounds with my wife. Fantastic fun. Wayne the owner was fantastic. Very helpful. The karts were in good condition. Helmets were brand new.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Faisal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Owner at Darwin Kart Hire, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Hello once again, thanks for taking the time to give us a review it is very appreciated and thanks for mentioning the helmets, they take a lot of work to dry, clean, sanitize them after every use but we pride ourselves in putting in the effort. Thanks for the positive feed back it makes it all worth while

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a great morning go karting. Our 9 year old was able to drive his own kart which was a great experience for him. Track was great and staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our morning here.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 1Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Owner at Darwin Kart Hire, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the effort and really like hearing that our customers enjoyed there Karting Experience
Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews