We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”

Indo Pacific Marine
Ranked #44 of 121 things to do in Darwin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Indo Pacific Marine began on 1971 as a privately funded project to develop and establish onshore marine ecosystems highlighting the unique features and biodiversity of the coral reefs that are in our Darwin waters.Indo Pacific Marine has become the longest established man made facility in the NT and has received industry recognition for its excellene over many years, in areas of conservation, eco tourism and education.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good find”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a great visit. Informative and a good learning experience not expensive and the staff were helpful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barph2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    20
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have driven past the Indo pacific on many occassions on our way to the wharf and cannot believe we had never stopped in until recently. What a hidden little gem!
A credit to the owners who have collected all the items on display over the years and what a treasure trove to think that all the coral and marine life in the exhibits are from the local waters.So much to look at in the main aquarium and amazing to think it has been untouched for years. The personal tour was very informative and interesting and we were encouraged to ask questions. The movie to watch on the entrance of the exhibit was beautifully filmed but we probably only needed to watch it for a short time.
We only paid for 2 hr parking and had to leave quickly as the parking ranger arrived, so I would recomend to pay longer than 2 hrs, easy to pass the time watching all the beautiful marine life.
We plan to go to for dinner and to see the marine life after dark and will definately take our dry season guests to see the coral and fish displays.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shellj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This by far would have to be our worst tourist experience in Darwin. It was overpriced and the guide was extremely rude and had the personality of a wet paper bag. He spoke down to the visitors and treated them like idiots that knew nothing about marine life, rather than give us an informative talk. We're felt very ripped off at having paid $58 for this experience. The place is run down and appears to have had little maintenance in the last 20years.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Feezagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Following an amazing film on the great barrier life we joined jon ostara for a truely remarkable journey in the museum. Jon has a profound scientific knowledge concerning earth planets marine life and ecosystems. With no high expectations it was for us a genuine pleasure

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eytanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nhulunbuy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a fascinating place to go. The owner has an amazing knowledge which he shares readily with you. How this attraction began is a great story in it's self.The coral and fish are beautiful. There is so much to see, allow plenty of time to really get as much out of it as possible. We would have loved to have done the evening dinner as well and seen the coral illuminated at night and enjoyed locally caught seafood.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indo Pacific Marine also viewed

 

Been to Indo Pacific Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing