We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have any interests in marine life, then this is something special”

Indo Pacific Marine
Ranked #46 of 123 things to do in Darwin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Indo Pacific Marine began on 1971 as a privately funded project to develop and establish onshore marine ecosystems highlighting the unique features and biodiversity of the coral reefs that are in our Darwin waters.Indo Pacific Marine has become the longest established man made facility in the NT and has received industry recognition for its excellene over many years, in areas of conservation, eco tourism and education.
Elmshorn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you have any interests in marine life, then this is something special”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I are in agreement, the Indo Pacific Marine is the most wonderful aquarium we ever have visited. When you imagine that it is already since 1977, after it was damaged after the first opening in 1971 by cyclone Tracy in the year 1974.
After an interesting film about the Great Barrier Reef, we visited the exhibition, which was extensively explained to us by the manager Jon. He distributed magnifying glasses for a better look at the aquariums and the fascinating underwater world.
Many thanks to Jon for the wonderful hours we spend together, let`s stay in touch!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangconny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    49
    21
    13
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creepy tour guide!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were first led into a room and told to watch a documentary(that was already mid way through). It was interesting, but went for a long time. After about half an hour the tour guide told us we should stop watching it...even though we were interested in it & were asked to start the tour. It was a beautiful display and he was very thorough and informative. But he was also very intimidating and appeared to hate the world. He also told us there are no crocodiles in the darwin oceans and reccomended swimming. There are crocodile boat tours so obviously there are crocodiles in the water... he was unpleasant and it wrecked the experience. But all in all it was still a good day... and we had something to giggle about afterwards lol. However,I would strongly suggest smiling mr tour guide :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“defenitely in need of cleaning”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Indo Pacific Marine might have seen good days, but during our visit we have been very much disappointed about the poor maintenance of the aquariums. While the information about coral reefs and their inhabitants is interesting it's sad to see there seem not to enough attention on maintaining the displays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dimue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting undersea world”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was wonderful to make a return visit to this interesting Darwin treasure. Other reviewers gave said the exhibits were dirty how little they listened or understood the unique ecological balance that has been created in the various aquariums. Admittedly the video is a tad long for return visitors but the barramundi feeding was a funny highlight even though brief. It's well worth a visit or even a revisit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Berjalanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not Underrate this”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had time to kill so thought Id try this although it seemed expensive. If you have any interest in the ecosystem or corals and the marine world it is really illuminating. The people who own it have given their life to this and are very knowledgeable. It is not a place for young kids, you need to spend time looking into each pool, using the magnifiers/ glass to look at things more deeply and you need to give time and thought to what you see. The video, a bbc film is exceptional. I d have liked to see it several times.

It is a bit tired. The funding has been cut and it costs a lot to keep running. It needs your support, it is worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indo Pacific Marine also viewed

 

Been to Indo Pacific Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing