We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not Underrate this”

Indo Pacific Marine
Ranked #46 of 123 things to do in Darwin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Indo Pacific Marine began on 1971 as a privately funded project to develop and establish onshore marine ecosystems highlighting the unique features and biodiversity of the coral reefs that are in our Darwin waters.Indo Pacific Marine has become the longest established man made facility in the NT and has received industry recognition for its excellene over many years, in areas of conservation, eco tourism and education.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not Underrate this”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had time to kill so thought Id try this although it seemed expensive. If you have any interest in the ecosystem or corals and the marine world it is really illuminating. The people who own it have given their life to this and are very knowledgeable. It is not a place for young kids, you need to spend time looking into each pool, using the magnifiers/ glass to look at things more deeply and you need to give time and thought to what you see. The video, a bbc film is exceptional. I d have liked to see it several times.

It is a bit tired. The funding has been cut and it costs a lot to keep running. It needs your support, it is worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    49
    21
    13
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Drouin, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Informative & Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a must see when coming to Darwin, Specially if you have Children, this is a very good attraction along with Educating about the sea world including the Reef system, well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very poor”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

visited in september 2013. i went in expecting a informative bright attraction, but was severely dissapointed. aquariums very filthy and the corals all washed out. my tour guide half way through left to go and make someone a sandwhich..needs new owners who love and will care and present it much better...aovid if possible

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbarumba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“School trips only”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very average , we only went for the pearling exhibition , which turned out to be one small wall
Most of the time was spent watching a documentary which I could have watched at home for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aus
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“needs updating”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I tend to visit marine parks when I visit a city, if available. This facility is uniquely placed in a prime location next to the bay and wharf. Unfortunately, the whole setup needs updating as this is not up to par with many marine centers I have been in Australia. the tour given, made me feel like a school child.

For the price of the ticket, I would recommend spend ti somewhere else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chu0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indo Pacific Marine also viewed

 

Been to Indo Pacific Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing