We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

AWFUL,AWFUL,AWFUL, dont ever believe websites,dirty,broken fan,broken shower head, cleaners couldnt even clean the room properly each day, curtains hanging off rail,website shows flat screen tv but is only small portable with a couple of channels. its 11.06pm and can`t sleep due to a clothes dryer being used by an inconsiderate person and it sounds like a grinding power saw!!! which is why I felt the need to write a true account of my stay here, cant tell reception as no phone numbers are listed in the room. Cutlery and crockery miss matched, no views available except into other offices across the road, balcony chairs ready for the scrap heap& I could go on and on but i`m tired now, I wonder who owns this Hotel??? People, DO NOT stay at this Hotel if you wish to holiday in Darwin.Due to peak season and very high costs for Hotel stays at this time I was forced to stay here at $180 per night instead of an average of $350 at my usual Hotel. This is still a considerable amount of money to pay for such disgraceful accomodation.

Room Tip: dont choose any rooms----DONT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynnette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    24
    22
    29
See reviews for
10
34
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We arrived and booking wasnt even confirmed so they said, i found my conformation email and they still said that wasnt booked in thats just the beginning,went to do washing all machines were down,went to make a ph call no landline connected,then aircon broke down 2 days before it was lookd at,me and my partner booked out and went across the road to the mantra so so much beta,will never visit again !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneygurl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Will never book here again. My room was in poor condition, the corridoors were filthy. When i got to my room it smelt musty. There was a leaky shower and when i went to turn it off the tap broke off in my hand. Shower was dirty and Exahust fan noisy. I advised that I wanted another room and they said they were all booked out. When i sourced other accomodation, i checked with Reception to ensure they would not charge me a cancellation fee, they agreed. When i got downstairs to check out they advised they now had another room (miraculously) but I had already booked elsewhere. The manager came out and was extremely rude. He bascially told me "bad luck" as I had booked with Quickbeds. He told me to leave very rudely!! Never Ever again would I book at this hotel. Discusting treatment of clientel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I ended up at the Luma Luma after our originally planned short stay accommodation fell through at the last minute. We were moving up to Darwin from Melbourne and needed a temporary place while we inspected and applied for apartments. I was immediately skeptical when we had to pre-pay less than $500 for a seven-night stay. Anyone familiar with the Australian economy should know that this is extremely cheap accommodation, especially in the remote Northern Territory.

On our way to our room, we noticed that the swimming pool, which looked beautiful on the website, was full of algae and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in over a month. Possibly even more disgusting was that there were guests actually swimming in it and smoking at the same time.

In our room, we found stains on the bedsheets and dirty towels with holes in them. There were also stains in the sink and on the shower floor, and no water pressure. The dishes in the kitchenette had crusty old bits of food stuck to them. The on/off dial knob on the portable electric cooktop fell off while we were cooking, and the leftover cooked beef mince we put in the fridge went off in less than twenty-four hours.

Nobody who has been to Darwin can argue that both air conditioning and ceiling fans are essential. We largely went without while at the Luma Luma, because the A/C unit was visibly dirty and left us feeling sick and headachy when it was on, so we kept it's use to a minimum. The fan appeared not to be securely fastened to the ceiling, so when it was on, even at the lowest speed, it looked like it was going to fall down on us. So we kept that off as well.

The housekeeping staff occasionally made the bed, but did not change the sheets, even when we had spilled food on them. They failed to replace the towels, soap, and toilet paper, and a granola bar wrapper was on the floor when we returned to our room that we had not left there.

The walls in our room were paper thin, and we could hear everything going on outside. A nearby construction site was in full operation from 7am to 6pm six days a week, and it somehow seemed louder in the room than it did outside.

On our fourth day, we were having a quiet afternoon and went to turn the bathroom light on when a fuse blew and all the power went out. We were forced to change rooms, which of course involved packing up all of our stuff with no working A/C -- and took five separate trips upstairs to a new room. The staff in this instance were helpful and seemed to know the drill with guest complaints, likely because they get a LOT of them. The new room was cleaner, but the microwave looked dodgy, so we switched it with the one in the old room before returning the key. We found it amusing that reception had a page listing everything wrong in each room -- A/C doesn't work, toilet doesn't flush, etc.

This is by far the worst place we have ever stayed. Stay away, no matter what.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Pictures on the web sites looked great, and were a match when I got there. But the hotel really is kind of lousy. The carpet in the room was wet with humidity and the air conditioning dropping on the floor. The place was clean but really worn down. The "roof" pool was really in a bad shape. I would recommend this place only if you can't find anything else in Darwin...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Organised accommodation by internet. Arrived Darwin 4.20am ex Singapore. Waited at airport then to accommodation at 7am as advised by email that reception would be open. Wanted to drop bags and return later to check in at 2pm (normal time) and hotel had been advised accordingly. Reception closed, waited for approx 30 mins then phoned after hours number on door. Got answerphone. Phoned another handwritten number below "official" number. Got someone out of bed. Reception open approx 7.55am. Dropped bag then returned at 2pm to check in - very very tired.
Allocated room on 4th floor. Found it to be old, very tired and needing a lot of maintenance as were the furniture and fittings. Not anywhere near the star rating claimed for the hotel. Very expensive $A185 per night - a real case of caveat emptor (let the buyer beware)! Microwave floor badly rusted out and dangerous. Mgt informed and replaced by another that was greasy inside with wrong revolving plate so it wouldn't work. As a result we ate out.
Room seemed reasonably clean, linen and towels clean but hard to make a silk purse out of a sows ear. Staff seemed willing and hard working.
Noted a lot of maintenance defects especially to electrical fittings e.g. cover over what seemed to be the fuse box in the one lift. Held in place with duct tape which often slipped so the cover was hanging with internal electrics exposed and well within reach of children. On final day cover missing completely. Seemed to be a long standing and serious water leak in the car parking floor. Pots for potted palms on the floor were cracked and broken. Overall we got the impression (rightly or wrongly) that the place was to be demolished and that the owners were ringing the last few $$ out of it while they could. (There were what seemed to be redevelopment plans/pictures in the office on the corner of the building)
Did think of checking out but were required to pay upfront for the whole stay before we even saw the room. NEVER AGAIN and could see why upfront payment required!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MarieAnnNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ross, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Travelled from Ireland to Darwin non-stop. My niece who lives in Darwin booked the apartment for us. The reception wouldn't be open when we arrived at 5 a.m. on the first morning, so she kindly picked up the key for us and then delivered us directly from the airport. We had booked an extra night so that we could get a decent sleep after that long trip.
We were awakened on the first morning by THREE phone calls to the room requesting we go to register - i.e. pay in full for the 7 nights accommodation. My husband explained that we were asleep and we would be down later. The last call ended by the manager of the hotel telling us we would need to vacate the room immediately if we did not register NOW!
Accommodation is very scarce in Darwin at this time of the year and very expensive so if we had any alternative we'd have left willingly.
We both got out of bed and went down - we explained our situation but never received an apology. What a welcome to Australia!
The apartment was well serviced daily, it was in an ideal location - but would I recommend anybody to stay there - NEVER.
It was also very bad value at 185 Australian dollars per night room only.

Room Tip: It's located on a busy street, so a room high up is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stibars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H105 Mitchell Hotel
H105 Mitchell Hotel
#22 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#12 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Property: Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Address: Corner of Woods Street & Knuckey Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing