We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
West Aussie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get!”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

On arrival we were told that a 1 bedroom apartment cost more than I had been quoted - substantially more. I'd booked 6 months earlier but felt that we should be paying as agreed so was prepared to "stick to my guns" regarding price. Fortunately, we won out, because we would have been left with finding alternative accommodation or taking the offered "studio" unit. Our room was basic but offered sufficient amenity for our needs. The fridge was smaller than expected requiring quite a bit of juggling to accommodate food and alcohol. Housekeeping tended to be a bit hit and miss, however, we always had a good supply of clean towels. The pool area needs more thorough tending. Broken glass and cigarette butts, together with building materials made one wary when walking barefoot. Had to ask for the pool toilet area to be cleaned. Had missed a previous review which referred to "ladies of the night" in the establishment. My husband was offered one lady's services 1/2 and hour after our arrival. We were not otherwise bothered by them or their customers during our 10 day stay but while in the pool area, were quite entertained by the various comings and goings - the pool deck faces the doors to all rooms. The apartments are located in easy walking distance to supermarkets, bus transport and the waterfront.

Room Tip: Room on 6th or top floor (7th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WandaWestAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    24
    22
    29
See reviews for
10
34
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I'll agree with some of the reviews here that the rooms look a bit dated, but I've stayed here on two ocassions now and think it's great value for money. I haven't experienced any problems with cleanliness on either of my stays, nor problems with the staff. Someone else complained about trolleys of dirty linen near the lifts, which I think is a pretty strange gripe. Particularly given that the corridors and lifts foyers are open to the outside and it's not like you actually see or smell the dirty linen - you just see a few trolleys nearby in a corner! Car parking may be a bit dicey; I always found a spot on both my stays, but the ratio of spaces to rooms means there could possibly be times where you have to park on the street. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the views are great, the air-conditioning cold and the swimming pool quiet. Most importantly, for such well located accommodation (everything in the city is walking distance), the prices don't make your eyes pop!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at the luma luma late July for the Darwin Ball and Darwin Cup. The rooms were neat and tidy enough but a bit dated. Our room had a very bad, unbearable sewerage smell and we complained about it from the minute we checked in. They really didnt try to fix it for us and were unable to move us to another room. Would never stay at this establishment again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m00nies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Just dont do it. The rooms were dirty, run down and it was very difficult to sleep in that environment. Stains on the carpets, stains on the couch; mouse poo on the stove, laminate cupboards swollen from water damage. We paid a premium: 5 of us there for nearly a week and they must have been rubbing their grubby little hands together at the $$$. Some local 'ladies' run a 'business' from there on the weekends as well. Came home with bites all over us; one can only assume bed bugs or similar. Will never return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ggl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The room was small and the chairs not the best, but for a night or two the price is right and it is possible to cook a meal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Myself and parnter stayed at the Luma Luma for 12 nights. We found the rate of $125 a night very cheap. (you pay close to that for a shabby hotel in our tasmanian hometown)
The staff were super friendly and catered to all our needs.
The views were lovely. The rooms were clean. We were able to walk around the city, to any restaurant and the wharf area.
The pool is great.
We are travelling to the Luma Luma again very soon and we would stay nowhere else in Darwin, its like out home away from home..christina

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

It's pretty basic and a teensy bit run down, but clean and confortable. Service was excellent. I asked for two more coat hangers and got six. I asked for another towel and got three. i asked for another glass and got two.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richarsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H105 Mitchell Hotel
H105 Mitchell Hotel
#22 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#12 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Property: Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel
Address: Corner of Woods Street & Knuckey Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luma Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luma Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing