We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palms City Resort
Nearby Hotels
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$103
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on the Esplanade(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$146
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
H Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$137
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$82
$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$141
$135
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
336
459
139
44
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
459
139
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowelectric bbqoutdoor spaexecutive villagreat locationhigh risetropical paradisedeckchair cinemastandard roomparliament housemitchell streetprivate balconytropical feelnice poolstay there againself containedacross the road
Filter
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at Palm City Resort in Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia. Palms there are, 'City'?, yes there is a two-storey L-shaped building with rooms and balconies. But 'Resort'?, we saw no grass, and no open space apart from the small pool and pool area. And Darwin has no city beaches. The 'Resort' is full of brown, prefabricated 'huts' of some man-made material, which mostly provide semi-detached accommodation for two groups. Tropical vegetation is used as a screen between units, and this is important as it allows some light into shadowy recesses.
The system for breakfast vouchers is ridiculously cumbersome. The vouchers have to be collected daily from reception and if there are departing guests checking out ahead of you, well, you just queue because your voucher has to be signed by the desk staff. This particular system is not designed with guests' convenience in mind.
Full payment had to be made in advance to Palm City Resort, and this also suits management more than guests. Oh, and there is no lift or portter service, and we cannot recall any Disabled Access. All things considered, not in our top twenty hotel experiences, in fact not remotely close.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I apologise that you felt the name of the resort was misleading. As you have stated, yes, they are plenty of palm trees around the resort. The “city” denotes the location of the resort given that it is located on The Esplanade in the heart of Darwin’s CBD. The Esplanade, which is 5 meters from the reception entrance, has 2.5km of grass parkland for the resorts guests to enjoy. The new waterfront development is a 10 minute walk from the resort and offers Darwin’s new wave pool along with another area which has been protected for swimming – given the singers and crocs in the waterways in Darwin it is not recommended to swim in the beaches. The Villas construction was designed with the tropical climate in mind. The Villas come in two sizes, the Duplex villas, are two villas under the one roof and the Business Villas are free standing. Generous windows and louvers introduce adequate cross-ventilation and natural light. The large roof overhangs and balconies provide useable outdoor areas taking advantage of the available views and breezes and provide sun and weather protection.
The breakfast voucher procedure has actually been designed for our guest’s convenience. Most of our guests are booked onto tours that depart early (6.30am onwards) therefore it is more convenient for them to organise the breakfast payment before they start their breakfast - as they then can relax in the restaurant and wait for their pickup in comfort (as the reception staff have signed off the voucher they are able to inform drivers when they are looking for a particular guest that they are waiting in the restaurant).
Full payment on arrival is the resort’s policy. This is industry standard. There is no lift at Palms City Resort as the majority of the resort is at ground level (including reception, the restaurant, the conference room, the guest laundry and 63 of the 89 rooms). The resort is 3.5 stars and therefore does not have a portering service however we do have a complimentary luggage storage facility and luggage trolley for guest use. The resort also has 4 x disabled access rooms (2xVillas), the rooms are also interconnecting to make allowances for a carer travelling with a disabled guest. I hope that this information has alleviated some of the disappointment you experienced when staying at Palms City Resort. If you would like to discuss any of the issues further please feel free the contact me directly at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Melanie Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We had a villa. Central to everything, Professional and helpful reception staff, beautiful garden surrounds, Quiet at night, Perfect size, clean and equpped with all we could have wanted. Absolutely recommend this place. We would stay there again.

Robyn and Gordon. New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2009

Dear Robyn and Gordon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am passionate about ensuring that all the resorts staff are trained well and offer exceptional service. Our motto is “3.5 star property with 5 star service”. We all look forward to welcoming you both back!

Kind Regards
Melanie Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed in Darwin for a total of six nights and the first three at this resort. After reading the reviews on this site, we decided to book a superior motel room as we figured we'd have more space than was available in one of the villas. We booked four months in advance and requested an upstairs room with balcony but was told they couldn't promise to fulfill that request. On arrival, we were disappointed to be given a downstairs room on the end of the motel block. This position proved to be quite noisy as people ascended the adjacent flight of stairs leading to the upper level. Also, for some reason unknown to us, people congregated at the end of the motel block, just outside our room, at very strange hours of the night, talking and even listening to a radio. We phoned through to reception on one occasion at 2 am to complain and the receptionist agreed it was not good enough and would tell the culprits to move on which they did. (The Arafura Games were on at this time and some of the athletes staying there seemed to keep odd hours!)
Our superior motel room was spacious with a comfortable queen bed and a single. The single was handy for our suitcases. There was a microwave, sink, fridge, the usual tea/coffee making facilities and crockery/cutlery.
The bathroom was not well designed for a traveller as it was quite small and there was no decent shelf space for toiletries nor any hooks for hanging clothes etc.
Those on duty at reception were always efficient, helpful and friendly.
The pleasant esplanade location of the resort is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops etc. and the Info Centre is close by. It cost us $8 to catch a taxi to Stokes Hill Wharf for a dinner cruise.
The duplexes at this resort do look to be a nicer option than the motel rooms as they are surrounded by lovely leafy gardens; however, we did appreciate the extra space in the superior motel room, except for the bathroom.
Although our stay at Palms City was ok, we were glad to move on to another hotel for the next three nights as we found it more comfortable for only an extra $10 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I stayed in a villa at the Palms City for 3 nights while on a business trip to Darwin. The villa was more like a cabin or bure, set in the midst of the resort's jungle like garden. The villa was quite small, but well equipped and very comfortable for a solo traveller, although I think it would be a little cramped for two people. The setting in the garden made the villa very special, giving a lovely outlook and feeling of privacy. The resort has a pool, a laundry, and wireless internet access in the rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful, and a good breakfast was available in the restaurant. The location is great, within walking distance to public transport and many of Darwin's attractions. All in all, the hotel provided a very pleasant stay, and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

I liked this hotel a lot - although that's prolly because I got one of the duplex bure style rooms - the motel style rooms (2 story bog standard) looked pretty ordinary. It was well thought out for a slightly better than budget-value property, great pool area, lovely lush tropical gardens, and very functional laundry room. My half bure had a gas BBQ and all that you needed inside for cooking - which is a good idea if you want to save some dosh at the top end - and the Coles supermarket was a block or two away. The location was excellent, just a block away from the airport and railway station transfer shuttle bus, and from the centre of town - and yet right on the esplanade park, so also a nice peaceful outlook. The staff were young and well trained, and seemed happy in their work, they looked after me very well, although couldn't do much about my cold wireless hotspot :-p Overall it was great value, and a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews