We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed in a motel room after a week in the bush. Expected a lot more. A very basic room with only 1 chair to sit on for two people. Bathroom good and room very clean. Laundry nearby with 3 washing machines which cost more than advertised and 3 dryers none which worked. Found outside line. Easy walking to centre of town and many eateries. Great location.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the car park at bottom of stairs. Suitcases being lugged down all hours of t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PerthBids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the resorts location. As a 3.5 Star property we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in Darwin’s CBD. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. The resorts Garden Bungalows or Tropical Villas may have been more to your liking. The Standard Motel Rooms do only have 1 armchair in the room however they also have a table and 2 chairs just outside the room for guests to enjoy Darwin’s beautiful weather. I do apologise that the dryers were not working – unfortunately they all broke down one after the other over a few days. A new dryer has been ordered and will be installed ASAP. The resort also has clothes horses for guest use on request. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Palms City Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 927 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

An unusual style for a city hotel, with bungalows, each one separated by a small garden and path. I think the gardens help to keep it cool with breezes blowing through the louvres. Electric kettle barbecue on the porch was handy and a small kitchen/food preparation area was also good but the room itself was fairly small. The overhead fan was a good feature, we didn't bother with air conditioning.
On one night during our stay, there was loud dance music coming from the nearby night spot but that didn't bother us too much as we were on The Esplanade side of the property (room 219). That was the only night we had any noise from the night spot and it finished about 11pm. Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SydneyRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa and found the old style tropical villa appealing as reminded us of darwin in the late 60's - practical and un pretentious. Room small but bathroom good size - nice to have the private verandah to sit on. Has everything needed in kitchen area to make a sandwich or snack. However , we had breakfast included so enjoyed a hearty start to the day. The pool was refreshing. Occasional noise at night from hotel music and the click sound of luggage with late night arrivals, early am departures but overall very quiet and peaceful. The location was fantastic as in town near Parliament House. Easy walk to waterfront area and town dining. The staff were friendly and room spotless as were the lush tropical grounds. Loved being at ground level and enjoying the true darwin feel of this gem. Do hope it isn't lost to developers before we get to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just spent 7 night at Palms City Resort in a superior motel room. It was a bit dated ( so don't expect modern looking) but was clean and well serviced daily.
Walk in shower in 244 was a bonus, air con was quiet also has overhead fans...
We asked for room away from hotel noise because we had read the reviews about the noise.
No noise from the hotel behind in room No 244. We loved being on ground level and not in some high rise with nothing but walls surrounding us.
The grounds were lovely and the pool is great to swim in and to sit around....Love the rail that allows one to get into the pool safely
Front desk (maned 24 hours) were all very helpful, we woke one morning to no hot water , told the desk staff and it was fixed right away and we had hot water ASAP
The breakfast was really lovely. Ranging from cerials, fruit and juices right through to lovely hot foods with the best eggs you will ever taste. Toast cooked to your liking, plenty of coffee and a great variety of teas
We looked forward to breakfast every morning,
The Palms is very central to everything and we both enjoyed our stay there.
The fact that your room key also opens the back gate was a bonus because we had several meals in the hotel behind (also good value), and only had to walk round a corner and back in through the back gate..
We would totally recommend it to anyone as good value for money.
Don't expect the Ritze Carlton , our room was basic but clean comfortable, well serviced and cool and nice and quiet.... What more could you want....

Room Tip: We wanted a walk in shower and a quiet room , so room 244 was the answer
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff nice. Breakfast nice. Behind then. hotel is a club playing loud music until 11pm so don't try to sleep before then. Room old but clean. People can smoke in front of rooms at tables. Tour and drop off busses won't use portico.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Looks good on paper, but just awful in person.
I paid the extra money to stay in the bungalow style villa for the use of the balcony and the kitchen....the kitchen fridge door hit the bed when opened and the balcony was the only place I could get wifi....The walls were so thin, I could hear the man in the room next door snoring all night and even though the balcony gave me extra room to breathe in this otherwise tiny room, there was no privacy between the balcony next door so I could see the snoring man in my down time too. I wont be staying here again and I travel to Darwin all the time...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank martine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. I do apologise that the Garden Bungalows were not to you expectation. The Bungalows do have 2 bungalows back to back so are great for people travelling together however you may have been better suited to our Tropical Villas that are free standing. Our rooms are also of brick construction so they also would have been better in this situation – Our Superior Motel Rooms have a kitchenette and the upstairs rooms have private balconies. I’m not sure how many nights you were with us or if you requested a room move but this also could have been an option (although not always available). The properties wifi signal is not available in all rooms (advertised as public area coverage) and this is why we offer it as a complimentary service. If you do decide to give Palms City Resort another try I would recommend our Tropical Villas or Superior Motel Rooms for your next stay. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice resort with a lovely pool area, nice gardens and great location. Very basic room on the second floor, no lift and no offer of assistance with bags at all. Two ladies, one in their 50's the other in their 70's and it was not a pleasant experience to go up the two flights of stairs. The single bed I stayed in was lumpy and uncomfortable and the pillows were appalling. We didn't hear any noise from the nearby venues, and it was generally quiet. The breakfast area didn't look appealing so we did not do that here. Staff were generally friendly until we complained that the room had not been swept and not cleaned very well, we were told that the rooms are only mopped between guests, yet this was within an hour of checkin and none of the cleaning trollies had any visible mops so not sure about the excuse. Was cleaned a bit better that afternoon but still no attention to details such as dust on the floor.

Room Tip: Not one on the first floor if you find carrying your luggage up stairs difficult.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlaveToQueenMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Palms City Resort. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the pool, gardens and location. As a 3.5 Star property we do not offer a porterage service however if a guest requests assistance we always do what we can to assist – staff permitting. 70% of the property is ground level with the first floor rooms being the other 30% and up 17 stairs. If a request is made to have a ground floor room at time of booking, this is available the vast majority of the time. When you arrived and complained that the floor was not clean, the housekeeping supervisor personally vacuumed and mopped the floor again. The floors are vacuumed and mopped between every guest and the mops are on the trolleys – they are the microfiber ones so you may not have recognized them – or they may have been in use in a room when you looked over the housekeeping trolley. We do remember your stay as it is very uncommon that we received complaints regarding our housekeeping standards and we were not aware that you had issue with the pillows (which we could have replaced easily for you) or the single bed (which we have spare mattresses for). I am sorry that you left disappointed particularly given we addressed the housekeeping issue raised immediately and were not aware of the other issues you experienced until reading this review. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $67 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015 & 2016! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing