We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely visit and a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a lovely visit and a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hi we are currently staying here in the resort and it has been great. Nice staff, very friendly and helpful. The villa we are in is downstairs by the pool and is very comfortable. Our only problem with noisy guests lasted about 10 minutes, until the night staff quietened things down. I wonder why that other guest didn't call them instead of complaining afterwards? My only complaint is that the reading lights are really bad as the globes are not bright enough. Otherwise, it has been a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    392
    123
    39
    23
See reviews for
110
449
92
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I would recommend this resort, I was travelling by myself and the location was great, villa was really comfy and as it was the wet season I got a good deal on the room and from Tripadvisor I used the voucher for the free breakfast every day. The food was fine but not great. The staff were all really nice, the pool was good. I had a nice little deck to sit out on and watch the rain. There was a bar-b-que there if I needed it and a microwave and fridge.
Shops and restaurants were very close by. I had dinner at the waterfront on the wharf one night, the food wasn't amazing, but the view made it worth it. While I was waiting for my dinner I looked down into the water and saw a shark and some large batfish (I was told that was their name), couldn't believe it, a shark!! was waiting to see a crocodile too!
I got a park inside each night, but even though it was quiet the carpark was full each night, so if you were were travelling in the dry season I would be prepared to park outside, I didn't see how much on-street parking was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for the second time on 18th November. Had pre-booked so check in was a breeze with friendly helpful staff. It was raining when I arrived and I even had a staff member provide umbrella escort from my vehicle to my Villa, great PR touch and much appreciated! Accommodation is clean, tasteful and kept in good order. Although it is a large resort, noise was minimal and very peaceful. Location is great with off street parking and a short walk to a range of restaurants. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Villas have kitchenette with microwave and outdoor bbq
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat vic
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We arrived at 1am and were checking out the next day so didnt get to experience too much at the Palms resort. Stayed in a Villa and everything was supplied that we required. The Villa was spotlessly clean, we got to use the pool the next day which was an awesome temperature, the grounds were well maintained and I would stay longer next time. Front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karsBallaratVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Resort, on the Esplanade is right opposite a beautiful huge foreshore park and the harbour. Rooms were adequate, very clean with tea and coffee making facilities and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A little dining room was available for early breakfasts and to have the little table and chairs outside our room was great for watching the late afternoon tropical downpour. A short walk out the back gate to shops, cafes, bars, bus services and travel agents was great. We stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs so you have a view over the villas - great during a tropical downpour!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great resort with lovely tropical surroundings. While staying there we opted for Villa accommodation which was amazing. Bbq on your private deck, in which the staff clean after each use. Rooms small however contain everything you require. Overall, most staff were amazing and very friendly. This resort is in the most perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The beds are comfortable and the rooms ok - but the guests this hotel attracts are rude, loud and drunk. I have had two nights here - the start and end of a NT business trip. Never again. On both evenings I had people partying outside my room until the wee hours. Running up and down the stairs. Banging doors. The design of this establishment means you hear everything. If you want to feel safe and get a good nights sleep - stay somewhere else.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Xen_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Palms City Resort. I do apologise that you have encountered this issue during this stay. I can see that you have previously reviewed the property positively so I am disappointed that as a return guest you are now saying you will never return. We do staff reception 24 hours a day for the comfort and security of our guests. If any guest is disturbed during their stay we ask them to report it to reception at the time and it will be addressed immediately. I have been informed that there was a Naval Ship docked in Darwin and the personnel where staying at many of the city hotels – not an everyday occurrence. That said, if a fellow guest reports being disturbed, the guest responsible for the disturbance would have been warned and evicted if the disturbance continued. Once again I do apologise that you did not have a restful stay this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Property: Palms City Resort
Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Mid Range Accommodation - Australian Hotels Association NT 2015! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing