We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 4 or 5 times now, having tried lots of other hotel accommodation in Darwin. This is a very relaxing place, close to shops, restaurants, hotels etc. We always book a duplex and ask to be near the pool, which we usually manage (228, 229, 230 are good rooms). There is a small area in front of and part of your room with an electric barbecue for your use, together with table and chairs. These rooms have a fridge, cutlery, crockery and sink. We love the Palms City Resort and would go back on the condition we got a duplex. The cleaning staff does need more training and we had to keep on to them each day.

Room Tip: A duplex room by the pool is the ultimate in accommodation at Palms City Resort. Wouldn't go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEZZAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 980 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

As far as location in Darwin is concerned, you can't get better as this resort is right opposite Parliament House in a prime city location. We had a villa. The room was small but clean and comfortable, and because of the tropical plants it does give you a sense of isolation. The verandah was a great place to spend time either enjoying a drink or cooking a barbecue. Staff were friendly, and the pool was a good place to relax. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby, although the pub next door can get a little noisy at weekends. We spent four nights there, and would definitely stay there again as it was ideal for us.

Room Tip: The villas seem to offer you more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nearby nightclub noise spoils your sleep with doof doof all night till 4 am!!
Despite this it is in a very handy location, staff are friendly
Didn't use the pool as it was populated by a dozen overweight men pretty much all day
No free wifi which amazes me considering the price of the rooms

Look for somewhere else :(

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugunda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It´s a nice litte resort with exotic villas. Everything is tiny and got all you need. But our room was right next to the pool gate and was a bit noisy, especially in the morning - I love my sleep in on holidays! The staff is friendly and all in all it´s in the centre of Darwin, what do you want more for a fair price?

Room Tip: Ask for the Villas, but they are more expensive or for a room not so close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had 3 nights in a Duplex Villa. Reasonable sized room for what you need in Darwin; sleeping but not lounging around in all day. Air-con, roof fan, microwave, kettle, toaster, bench space on the small side so we placed the chopping board over the sink. Nice balcony with electric BBQ all set in tropical bushland type garden but right on the Esplanade.

Comfy bed, nice modern furnishings. Nice pool. One minute walk to Mitchel street, cafes, coles etc all within a couple of mins.

This place is popular with the seniors who come of the Ghan. Very friendly and attentive staff.

The only downside is the street noise and nightclub noise that you get in the rooms that face the road. Someone nearby likes to do a bit of chainsaw work at 6:00AM. Despite that, we would stay again and insist on a room away from the street side when booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa/room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a fairly basic hotel. The rooms are OK but you will not want to linger in them. Bathoroms are tiny. Everything is clean and efficient, and the staff are really helpful. Wi-fi has to be paid for but didn't work in my room - so they cancelled the payment. The OK breakfast is 20 dollars. Located on the esplanade you can have a nice walk along the sea-front.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely place and friendly, helpful staff. I was upgraded to an Executive Villa - lovely. However, I came back one night to find the cleaners had left the sliding fly screen door open and the main glass door unlocked. Nothing missing but unimpressive. I went straight to reception and the complaint was noted and staff promised to follow up with cleaning staff.

Room Tip: If you have mobility or heavy luggage issues and booking one of the motel style rooms ask for ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.5 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#4 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $61 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015, 2016 & 2017! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths or Private plunge spas, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the Villas and Bungalows are surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, buffet breakfast cafe, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentary luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing