We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city - Great!”
Review of Palms City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms City Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in a Villa room in May this year, the room was clean and well appointed with its own balcony. We were very close to the resort pool and laundry facilities all of which were well maintained and inviting. The reception staff were great and helpful. We found our accommodation to be quiet and still within easy walking distance of the CBD and Stokes Wharf. We will stay here again when we are next in Darwin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Palms City Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 925 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Don't stay here if you want to sleep-there is a night club directly behind, which operates on Friday night until 1am and Saturday night until 4am. We had NO SLEEP AT ALL on Saturday night, as the roof vibrated with the thumping of the music. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May. First two nights in a villa and the third night in a standard room. The villa was equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, a few dishes and utensils. Each villa veranda has an electric BBQ. Nothing fancy but I was happy with everything. The standard room only had a fridge and an electric pot to boil water for tea/coffee. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, and staff was friendly and helpful. Internet was 7.70 for a cumulative period of 2 hours or $11 for all day. I was not able to get a wifi signal in the villa so they refunded the charge. Wifi works fine in the office and some spots around the pool but it seems to be a work in progress. The hotel seemed popular with seniors so perhaps Internet is not a huge issue. Location on the Esplanade is ideal for shops and food. I highly recommend the day trip to Litchfield National Park with Wallaroo Tours. It includes an hour cruise feeding crocs on the Adelaide River. Our guide for the day was Pat and he was excellent. I would stay in this hotel again. The price offers good value compared to other CBD hotels.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank houstr8male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Walking distance to CBD. I stayed 8 nights in a Superior Motel room. The kitchenette was great. The staff always smiling and happy to help, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The airconditioner worked a treat, wouldn't have survived without it. The pool was also great to relax and cool off. I would also thoroughly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Noises not clean very small rooms see through curtains no toaster or microwave was not impressed went back to reception but they were not interested at even looking at our room it was not clean air conditioner filter ceiling fan the room was smelly

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsmanager, General Manager at Palms City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest, your review is surprising to me. Palms City Resorts cleanliness is often complimented and in our recent AAA inspection the resort was awarded a score of 98% for cleanliness. Our Standard Rooms do not come with a toaster or microwave (nor are they advertised online that they do). All of the other room types do come with a microwave, toaster and sink area. Our villas also have electric BBQ’s for guests wishing to prepare they own meals. The curtains are block out curtains and are not see through. The air- conditioners are cleaned regularly with our maintenance schedule and as required. All of the resorts accommodation has recently undergone spring cleaning. I hope that you did find accommodation more suitable to your requirements during your stay in Darwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Central to everything. All staff, both reception and domestic were extremely friendly and helpful. Reception staff very knowledgeable about area and nothing was any problem. Rooms were homely and comfortable, thank heavens for the pool and air conditioning. Would thoroughly recomment staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Palms City Resort is centrally located in Darwin close to everything- bus terminus, information office, shops etc. If you enjoy early morning exercise it is situated opposite a linear park that follows the coast. Our room was very clean and had the added bonus of a well supplied kitchenette. This allowed us to save money with meals. The pool was a good size and we really appreciated it when we wanted to cool down.. The staff were very friendly and answered all our queries and tried to assist us in any way possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,951 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms City Resort

Address: 64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darwin
#5 Family Hotel in Darwin
#8 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $68 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Best Standard Accommodation - NT Tourism Awards 2015 & 2016! Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Tropical Villas - some with Private plunge spas, Executive Villas with Spa Baths, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the villas and Bungalowsare surrounded by tropical gardens and come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, breakfast restaurant, conference facilities, tour bookings, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentry luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms City Hotel Darwin
Palms City Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing