We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in a Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Mulwala, Australia
1 review
“Weekend in a Darwin”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thank you for a great couple of nights in Darwin. Great location, spacious, comfortable, clean, and great views. Pool was massive and enjoyed the swim on the hot afternoons. We had a lovely weekend. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind review . It is a great place for a weekend.

So glad you enjoyed :))


Stay safe

leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    28
    15
    15
See reviews for
47
17
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Darwin and our stay at Marrakai has been fantastic. We didn't really know what to expect but we were blown away by both the apartments and Darwin itself. Having 2 teenage boys we normally have to book 2 hotel rooms. We only booked the one apartment at Marrakai but when we arrived we couldn't believe how big it was! Normally the boys get under our feet but there was plenty of room and we even had a balcony each! The location is fantastic as it is right in the centre of the city. We also saved heaps because we only had to book the one apartment. In Darwin I would recommend the harbour dinner cruise and the best day trip we did was to the jumping crocodiles just outside of Darwin. We will be recommending Darwin and Marrakai to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
AWW Gee Thanks :)) So glad you enjoyed our apartments and hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time for your lovely review :)) Keep on having FUN,

Take care

Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Clean rooms, plenty of space, nice kitchen. Lifts and common areas need renovating. Confusing numbering system in the carpark. Lovely Irish las on the front desk. Aircon worked well. Nice big TV in the lounge and in each of the bedrooms. 2 bed 2 bath so was good to share with a work colleague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review :) It means a lot to my staff and I. We do try hard to please.

So very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The star rating and photos suggest the Marakai to be luxurious. Far from it. Whilst our room was at least clean and smell free, the same couldn't be said for the common areas and lifts.
The decor in our room was badly dated and you could see that maintenance to the interior has been neglected. The location also is in a noisy area. Overall there is not much going for the Marakai. Would definitely not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not tired..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank 28Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear 28 Reno.

Thank you for your feed back. I believe your stayed in apt 29 which is down for painting next week. We are sorry it wasn't done before your stay as yes it does need a paint and of course we still need to function and cannot have all apartments off line together. Other than that it is a lovely apartment with a great new comfy lounge and great views.

Unfortunately we are at the mercy of the body corporate where the lifts and foyers are concerned :( We are meeting with them every week and every week they assure me they are getting new carpet. So hopefully that will be soon. We are 4 star and not self rated, we have to go through extreme tests to be rated 4 star.

We are very sad that you did not enjoy our lovely apartments. Again it is difficult for us to please everyone and we want to. If you had mentioned this to us at the time we could have moved you and asked for you to write us a letter that we could take to the committee.
We are always trying hard to improve .

Take care
leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here because we won a voucher donated by Marrakai to raise money for sick children. It was that good we extended our stay and got a great deal at $350 per night. For a family it is worth every cent and more. We have paid a lot more in cities for a lot less. There are large apartments with great balconies. Staff are friendly and we loved all the little extra's like the special tea's and the brewed coffee oh and the little biscuits. Someone loves these apartments and you can feel it.

Room Tip: we had an apartment over looking the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you so much for your review :)) We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to us we do try to make everyone happy,

My staff and I thank you

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked via AOT Hotels as a government rate booking for 7 nights. 2 good size bedrooms , main with ensuite, great views from all rooms , large balcony , air con , - a well presented clean apartment . Day after arrival there were a couple of small maintenance issues that Peter ( on site manager ) attended to immediately - the gov budget didn't extend to daily cleaning but linen and towels were replaced on day 5 which was unexpected ( the booking stated day 7 or later ) . Thankyou :)
Unfortunately the overall feel of the building ( hallways etc ) is dated and there is a lingering smell (6th floor) that didn't disappear ( suspect the garbage chute rooms on each floor ) .
Central to Darwin city centre , undercover free parking and a pool on site.
There are full time residents in the building and there is a 'no party' policy that suggests you're not going to be annoyed by noisy
Guests.
I think 'luxury' is a stretch but the convenience of an apartment at the same price as a newer hotel room will win each time with me.
Will return to Darwin in July and I'm sure to book in again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SfnmisSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear SfnmisSy,

Thank you for taking the time to put up this review. My staff and I are really pleased you enjoyed our lovely apartments and most of all thank you for letting us know of the little things that needed fixing so we could fix them for you :))

Take care and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtle-lover-sj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My staff and I travel to Darwin at least twice a year and I always book us into the Marrakai. Its central location is excellent, the free covered parking is perfect and the staff are always extremely helpful and welcoming. I've stayed in about 5 or 6 different apartments now and all are comfortable and clean, some are more modernised than others and the higher up you go the more fantastic the views are. (the floor 15 rental is a personal favourite in terms of decor and views)

I choose apartments over hotels for us so we have proper cooking facilities and you truly do get the full works with every kitchen having everything you would need plus washing machine and tumble drier.

The pool area is well kept, my only criticism, and it is a minor one, is that i prefer a heated jacuzzi but thats personal preference.

I'm sure you could get more luxurious apartments but in my experience this is the best value for money and offers the best home away from home experience.

Room Tip: Floor 15 rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtle-lover-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Turtle-lover-sj

Thankyou so very much for your review my staff and I try hard to please and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our lovely apartments.

Take care and we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#12 of 37 in Darwin
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

Property: Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Address: 93 Smith St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing