We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in this apartment on the 16th floor, with amazing views of the bay and the sunset. We were very impressed with the size of the apartment and how well equipped it was. We arrived early and dropped off our luggage, having left our camper van back and although we couldn't access our room, when we returned later our luggage had been brought to our room and our food put away, even the beer had been out in the fridge! A nice touch! The pool was a bit hard to access, through the basement and up some stairs but it was nice and the whole pool area was being thoroughly cleaned on the morning we left. We had our 3 kids with us and had a great night's sleep, it was very quiet and had very comfy beds. It was quite expensive but not any more than other similar places in Darwin. Maybe we were lucky with our room or maybe some of the other reviewers were unlucky but I would definitely recommend it. We have stayed in a lot of places over the years and this was one of the best.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, the views were sensational especially at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belfastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hey Belfastgirl

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love our apartments too! We are a small business and pride ourselves on our personal touch. We have a great team and are lucky to have them.
Have a fabulous Christmas
The Marrakai 'Family' :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently had the unfortunate experience of this hotel/apartments for 10 days.

These are NOT 4 or 5 star as advertised and at best 2-3 stars and certainly not worth the price tag.

The quality of the rooms are highly variable as is the cleaning standard.

On arrival we were placed in a "so-called renovated room": This room on the 11th floor was not renovated but had had a minor cosmetic superficial makeover with new cushion covers and couches. The bathrooms, kitchens and floors were dated back to the 80's. We noted crumbs on the floor, mouldy bathrooms and dirty fans. In addition the foxtel didnt work. We complained and the management dutifully sent the cleaners up - who rather than having a set list of jobs just rush around like mad giving the place a superficial spray and wipe.

The next three nights my daughter started to complain of severe itch and came out in nasty bites all over her back and legs which required medical treatment. We complained to management who at first were rather disbelieving. I demanded to move rooms and this time we were placed on the 15th floor. This apartment was renovated but again suffers from the wear and tear and bad cleaning and management issues.

WE found on moving in to this room -:
1. TV didn't work! (had to again get management up to fix it - turns out someone had plugged in an old VCR and removed all the cabling).
2. Fans filthy
3. Pillows yellow and stained and severely odiferous - again called housekeeping who dutifully exchanged them for newer ones.
4. Extractor fan peeling paint which dropped into your food when cooking (again management called who sent a handy man up to rectify)
5. Door to balcony jammed - same poor handyman sent up to "replace the pads which had become worn"

Management denied having any cause for our daughters bites however 4 days later some flowers and chocolates were delivered to our room from management. Turns out they had found a NEST OF BITING ANTS in the wardrobe of the room where our daughter was staying. Management suddenly were apologetic and no longer disbelieving. However my daughter had to have oral medication and creams for 1 week to relieve her discomfort.

Other issues:
1. Pool is showing signs of needing an upgrade and is not child friendly - the entrance is thru a narrow door up some steps which is not pram friendly as you try to fit the pram thru a doorway whilst opening a security latched pool gate. We have a 5 month old baby so we needed the pram as the seating areas around the pool have lots of ants.


Overall we would have moved to another hotel but my husbands work had paid for the accomodation so moving was not an option - however we would never stay there again and we don't recommend anyone else to either.

The problems could be fixed if some serious input was placed on maintaining these properties. However as each apartment is owned by a different owner the standard is highly variable.

In addition the cleaners/housekeeping don't really clean or have any set guidelines. House keeping consists of a superficial spray and wipe followed by clean sheets! So often things are missed or just not checked between peoples stays. For example - the remotes to the TVs had been misplaced so weren't in the second room when we were moved - if the housekeeping had checked this we wouldn't have had to ring down to management again to find them. In addition coffee and tea aren't restocked, just missed by housekeeping. The cleaners need to have a list of requirements and get them ticked off each time they service a room- that way when a room needs maintenance they can inform management.

The only positive was the location - close to Woolworths and the centre, and walking distance to the lagoon (15 mins).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank well_travelled079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi well_travelled079
I do recall and know who you are. I feel very sad that you left still feeling the need to give us this review. I personally dealt with this and believe I did everything possible to make you and your family comfortable and enjoy your stay. Our bathrooms are not from the 80's and our apartments are not dirty. Our cleaners at the time were professional and did not move around with a superficial spray and wipe, however they do move fast when guests are in the room as to not inconvenience you.
We did find some ants (a typical Darwin issue) which may have bitten your daughter and this was dealt with immediately. We gave you a complimentary upgrade, offered medical treatment for your daughter and I personally delivered fruit bowl, flowers and hand-made chocolates as I cared and was concerned for you all. I'm sorry my concern was construed as being anything but that.
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do have lovely apartments and take on-board all of your comments as there is always room for improvement.
Hope you are all well and have a joyous and safe Christmas
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at Marrakai All Suites for 1 night, after 5 days in Kakadu with Lords Safaris. The place is somewhat removed from the 'throng' of Darwin, and was quite obviously occupied with plenty of permanent residents. Very quiet. We arrived afterhours but they'd sent a code to our mobile to access the key drop that worked without a hitch. Thank heavens we had charge in our phone, though! The apartment was on lvl 15, with good views of Darwin, but also a very noisy Electricals room. Very clean. Very spacious. EXCELLENT kitchen with lots of crockery, cutlery, bowls, etc. Small laundry with washer & dryer, and sachets of powder. I did 3 loads that night as we left the following morning for our own 4wd adventure. It's walking distance to Woolworths which was great to pick up dinner & supplies for our 2nd week in the Top End. A very pleasant stay. Would recommend it, however, it is very pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice location, basic two bedroom unit definitely not four star, over priced, I think your paying for the location, stayed five days, on first day reported fox movies not working, reception said they would pass it on to maintenance, didn't seem to get done never had movies for the five days, also went looking for the BBQ, when we found it, there was food & grease all over it, never got cleaned during our stay

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 9 nights and only saw housekeeping on day 2. I would have thought every 2nd or 3rd day would be the norm but we had to ask reception whenever we needed anything. Reception was friendly and helpfull. Location is central to city needs. Rooms are due for a refurb as showing wear and tear. For the price expected better, but not the worst around. Brush up on a few things and reviews would be better..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mikeedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is not very good at all. Darwin is a hot city and the air con is sub par the say the least. The decor is at best early 1990's and not updated since.
There are some really good hotels in Darwin, shop around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at Marrakai for 4 nights for work. For Darwin, which is an expensive city, price was very good value. Decor was dated, but everything was clean and comfortable. Great views of Darwin, good location, about 200 m to restaurants, coffee shops and supermarket. Lounge room has double sliding doors on two sides, wrap around balcony, ceiling fans - perfect for tropical climate (in May - during summer I would have used the air-cond). I've stayed in most of the major hotels in Darwin and returned to none. Will definately stay at Marrakai next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 36 in Darwin
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

Address: 93 Smith St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $103 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing