We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alatai Holiday Apartments
Ranked #23 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Alatai for 7 days recently. As noted by others, the facilities are basic, but we were OK with that (not wanting to pay $$$/night right in the CBD), and we were pleasantly surprised with our 'studio' apartment. The bathroom was larger than usual, and included a washing machine and clothes dryer (both in good condition).(There is also an iron and an ironing board.) The shower was excellent- large, clean and with instant hot,constant pressure, water. The bed (QS) had an excellent mattress and I noted (after reading another review) that the sheets ARE superb! We had both a good, modern aircon and a ceiling fan (almost over the bed). There was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The TV suffered so-so reception at times, but we have noticed this before in country areas. Most times it was good.
One facet that was important to us was the housekeeping service, and it was fantastic ! The girls were quick and competent. Nothing was overlooked- we had clean towels/bathmat every single day. After spending just 4 days there, we came back one afternoon to find our bed beautifully re-made with fresh linen, and all surfaces given a good wipe down. Impressive,considering this is not an upmarket place.
As east coast/SA/WA? cheaper flights come in and leave during the early hours of the morning, we booked for 8 nights, so that we could sleep on arrival at 3 a.m.(there is a duty night manager) and then take our time (watching the Tour de France!) before leaving for the airport at 1 a.m.(There is also plenty of off street parking.)
When our airline cancelled our initial flight and moved us on by 24 hours, we were able to get our booking altered without any hassles.
There is internet access($1/15 minutes) at Reception, a pool area that was well used, especially by families, and beautiful garden surrounds.
The only down side we experienced was noisy people outside our room (on first floor of 3 levels- walkway running past every room/apartment) on 2 nights of the weekend. These were both guests and outsiders (there are other hotels/hostels nearby). They woke me up time and again. Management needs to address this. Apart from this, we found noise levels to be very controlled by good insulation/building- much better than many other places we have stayed.
We started looking for bookings early in April, but found it hard to get any accomodation in Darwin even then. We just grabbed the booking at Alatai when it was offered by not-1-night, and we were more than happy with it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aless6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

my wife and i stayed here for 5 nights in a one room. the t.v. was pretty poor along with the reception,could barely pick up the stations. very basic accomodation but to a degree you get what you pay for. bought a package deal to darwin, flight and accom.from adelaide. it was cheap, must say tho, that the rooms were cleaned each day and the air conditioner was working non-stop,which was certainly needed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdelaideEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hotel is good value for money, considering you get an airconditioned 2 bedroom apartment. It is also located close to the CBD, but transport is still necessary. Recommended for families.
Pool area could be kept cleaner and management should be more strict about the use of glass and food in the pool area (some people were eating food with their feet in the pool...).
During our stay the hotel restaurant was under renovation and not accessible.
There is no Wifi and internet can only be accessed in the reception area (charged per 15 min.)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaiviti2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Staying in Darwin for a few days en route to Vietnam, we chose this place because we found a good deal on one of those book-at-the-last-minute websites.
While the decor and facilities were basic, they were clean and adequate, and at about $350 for 3 nights, the two-bedroom apartment proved good value between the four of us. The pool looked quite nice, but the whole pool and barbecue area was taken over every night by a large group of middle-aged tourists who were staying there at the time. That didn’t bother us, since we didn’t have much time to use it anyway.
To sum up, I wouldn’t spend my honeymoon here, but it’s a cheap place to stay with a group, you can self-cater and have a bit of room to spread out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ejidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with family just as a base to see a few of the sites of Darwin and surrounding area. Apartments arent fancy but have everything you need, and location was not far out of the city center. Management was very helpful when we had a midnight departure at the airport, by holding our bags and allowing us to have showers etc.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

These holiday apartments are a very good value for travelling families.
I stayed here for six days with my partner and his family in adjoining rooms. We had a single, while his relatives had a 2 bedroom suite.
Our room had a kitchenette, with a microwave and small fridge. The adjoining suite had a full kitchen, with an oven, microwave and small fridge. Dishes are provided.
While there were some minor cosmetic issues (peeling laminate here and there,etc.) everything was spotlessly clean.
One standout thing I would like to mention is the sheets - they were high-quality thick 100% cotton sheets, the kind you find in a high-end hotel. I am very fussy with sheets, to the point where I pack my own, so this was a very pleasant surprise. The towels were also of good quality - although you only get a bath towel apiece and a bathmat per day, so you might want to bring your own washcloths (face washers, as they call them here in Australia).
There is also a pool on site with a rock waterfall feature - I spent a lot of time reading out by the pool. The pool closes at 10pm, so there was no issue with noise.
Other features onsite are internet access in the lobby ($1 for 15 mintues) and a great Chinese restaurant, which is also run by the management.
It's fairly close to the CBD of Darwin (about a 10-15 minute walk or a $6 taxi ride).
If I travel in a large group to Darwin in the future, I will definately revisit the Alaitai Apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Foxpup82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 178maximep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, Public Relations Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.9 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
2.8 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 36 in Darwin
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alatai Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alatai Holiday Apartments

Address: Corner of McMinn and Finniss Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $52 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alatai Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI in Reception and Cafe area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Alatai Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alatai Holiday Apartments Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing