We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alatai Holiday Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$135
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Elan Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$163
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$114
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on the Esplanade(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$125
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$132
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$136
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$145
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
15
33
35
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
33
35
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo bedroom apartmentwasher and dryerlate flightcontinental breakfastdarwin citylocation is greatkitchenettesofakeyslaundrywaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hotel is good value for money, considering you get an airconditioned 2 bedroom apartment. It is also located close to the CBD, but transport is still necessary. Recommended for families.
Pool area could be kept cleaner and management should be more strict about the use of glass and food in the pool area (some people were eating food with their feet in the pool...).
During our stay the hotel restaurant was under renovation and not accessible.
There is no Wifi and internet can only be accessed in the reception area (charged per 15 min.)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaiviti2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Staying in Darwin for a few days en route to Vietnam, we chose this place because we found a good deal on one of those book-at-the-last-minute websites.
While the decor and facilities were basic, they were clean and adequate, and at about $350 for 3 nights, the two-bedroom apartment proved good value between the four of us. The pool looked quite nice, but the whole pool and barbecue area was taken over every night by a large group of middle-aged tourists who were staying there at the time. That didn’t bother us, since we didn’t have much time to use it anyway.
To sum up, I wouldn’t spend my honeymoon here, but it’s a cheap place to stay with a group, you can self-cater and have a bit of room to spread out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ejidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with family just as a base to see a few of the sites of Darwin and surrounding area. Apartments arent fancy but have everything you need, and location was not far out of the city center. Management was very helpful when we had a midnight departure at the airport, by holding our bags and allowing us to have showers etc.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

These holiday apartments are a very good value for travelling families.
I stayed here for six days with my partner and his family in adjoining rooms. We had a single, while his relatives had a 2 bedroom suite.
Our room had a kitchenette, with a microwave and small fridge. The adjoining suite had a full kitchen, with an oven, microwave and small fridge. Dishes are provided.
While there were some minor cosmetic issues (peeling laminate here and there,etc.) everything was spotlessly clean.
One standout thing I would like to mention is the sheets - they were high-quality thick 100% cotton sheets, the kind you find in a high-end hotel. I am very fussy with sheets, to the point where I pack my own, so this was a very pleasant surprise. The towels were also of good quality - although you only get a bath towel apiece and a bathmat per day, so you might want to bring your own washcloths (face washers, as they call them here in Australia).
There is also a pool on site with a rock waterfall feature - I spent a lot of time reading out by the pool. The pool closes at 10pm, so there was no issue with noise.
Other features onsite are internet access in the lobby ($1 for 15 mintues) and a great Chinese restaurant, which is also run by the management.
It's fairly close to the CBD of Darwin (about a 10-15 minute walk or a $6 taxi ride).
If I travel in a large group to Darwin in the future, I will definately revisit the Alaitai Apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Foxpup82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, Public Relations Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews