We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LizGibson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alatai Holiday Apartments
Ranked #20 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LizGibson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have just stayed in one of Alatai Apartments for a week. Room was great, clean and tidy, and maintained on a daily basis, except for Sundays which was fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice quiet unit. Short walk to town. Would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
34
25
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location is good, being only a short walk to the centre of town. However the cleanliness of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. My husband and I who were travelling with our 9 month old son, were told that the room was only going to be cleaned once in our 8 night stay. Which we could have dealt with if the room had been thoroughly cleaned to begin with. On our first day there we discovered crumbs on the floor. Not very conducive for a 9 month old who is crawling. Also our room was not cleaned until the Monday, right at the end of our stay. If you are only going to clean the room once, I suggest that the middle of a persons stay would be best. My husband and I also ended up emptying our bin more than staff. When we ran out of toilet paper on the Sunday, we were told that there was no housekeeping on Sundays and that we would have to buy our own. Whilst it was good having the 2 rooms, next time I would much rather sacrifice the second bedroom for 1 with a much better and cleaner housekeeping service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynmcmeikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location near the gardens and easy walk to Mindle beach. Very clean, neat and tidy.Shared a three bedroom apartment on the found floor which was very comfortable. Woud recommend to a family. Kitchen had all we needed plus washing machine and dryer. Toilet gar to flush and needed repair otherwise would have

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trezonarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Alatai Holiday Apartments for your recent stay in Darwin. We are glad you have had a pleasure stays with us, and we greatly appreciate your positive comments! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at Alatai Holiday Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed there 6 nights. Found it very basic and tired. Not in a very nice area and too far out of town. I am sure there would be better accommodation for the same price closer to the city. Room not cleaned in the 6 days, rubbish emptied some days. Tea and coffee supply meagre. Towels very old, no hand towel or face washer, pillows very flat, 2 soaps and small shampoo and conditioner supplied, any extra during stay had to be paid for. Not up to 3 star rating. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, General Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your comments! Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Alatai Holiday Apartments is 3.5 star rating under self-catering category which is certified by AAA. We are located in between Botanical gardens, Mindil Beach, and CBD. Although we are not in the center of Darwin, we are in the center of all tourist attractions
We regret we can't provide daily room service due to the room rate we offered. Most of our guests prefer to enjoy the home away from home feels. We provide full kitchen in 2 bedroom apartments, and kitchenette in studio for cooking. We also provide washing machine and dryer for laundry. All these facilities are not available in regular hotel room.
All our towels and hand towels are supply daily by a hotel towel cleaning company. In fact, all hotels in Darwin are supplied by same company. I'll forward your comments to them for better towels in future.
We apologies for the services and facilities in our hotel did not up to your expectation. We are continuing upgrading our facilities and services. We are looking forward to seeing you again in future to provide you better service and facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. It was very affordable we were able to leave our car there while we flew home and had 2 wks in bundaberg. Staff are very helpful. Rooms were very clean, bed was comfy, pool was nice. We arrived back late and a security was there to show us our room We would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJoeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, General Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments! We are glad you have had a pleasure stays with us! We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We paid $95 a night - what a bargain, I think the price can be double this during the dry season. Search on different sites for the best deal. We had a 1 bedroom studio apartment, but it also had a connecting door if you were a larger family. I was pleasantly surprised with the high quality white cotton bed linen and the bathroom had plenty of bench space and was very clean. Lovely water pressure in shower. Bed was two king singles pushed together, so plenty of room to spread out. The air conditioning worked very well. Having a microwave, electric frying pan and fridge, cutlery and crockery was really great as you don't get this in a standard hotel room. We sat out on the balcony every night and enjoyed the rain and the lightning display. Plenty of parking available, 24 hour petrol station 5 minutes walk away for quick groceries and bottleshop 1 minute walk, Taxi depot next door.
It is about a 15 minute walk to all the restaurants/pubs, however there is a Thai restaurant within the complex - didn't go though. Overall, great place if you can get it cheaper than $195 per night.

Room Tip: Studio room has a connecting room which offers a separate loungeroom and another bedroom. This would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, General Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The apartment smelt of old socks. The air conditioner leaked water. Noisy and very dated. Bathroom was dirty and mouldy. Stayed as a singleton, first time I didn't feel safe in the territory. Wouldn't recommend this to anybody. !!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Bus shelter would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpatto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlataiReservations, General Manager at Alatai Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
My name is William Tam and I am the general manager of Alatai Holiday Apartments. We were sorry to hear about your mixed experience during your stays with us, and want to invite you back on us to show you we’re serious about good customer service. Appreciate that if you could call me at 08-89815188 to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.8 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#16 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#17 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alatai Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alatai Holiday Apartments

Property: Alatai Holiday Apartments
Address: Corner of McMinn and Finniss Streets, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alatai Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI in Reception and Cafe area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alatai Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alatai Holiday Apartments Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing