We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days for work purposes. Hotel itself a little dated in decor and fittings, but being an apartment hotel, the studio room was reasonably spacious - although bathroom was small.
The location is great, just on the cusp of the CBD and an easy walk to most attractions in town. Parking is good and free. The supermarket is right next door which is great for longer stays to stock up on breakfast provisions etc.
The worst feature of our stay was the most uncomfortable bed we've ever slept on! After the first night, we asked reception to see if housekeeping could try and place a mattress topper or something over the 2 king singles which were pushed together. Staff assured us it would be fixed, but nothing seemed to get done. The gap between the 2 beds was huge and very unpleasant.
There's a nice little pool, but it's cold! There is also a communal BBQ area which we didn't use.
Overall, we were reasonably happy with the quest, but wouldn't choose to stay here again, as we travel to Darwin frequently for work and have stayed at much nicer hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    63
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
61
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I recently completed my degree and found work in Darwin, leaving my family home in Perth and starting a-new. I was allowed to stay at the quest apartments for three months while I adjusted to Darwin living. My stay in the quest apartments helped to wean me off my mother’s care with the care of the competent and thoughtful housekeeping, extremely friendly and inviting desk staff and the general location of the hotel being next to the Woolworths.

I would recommend the quest Darwin to anyone looking for a comfortable and accommodating stay in Darwin for the short and long term.

Room Tip: The executive apartments face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good location but take a umbrella for the wet season. Close to major shops and places to eat (as there is no attached restaurant). Rooms are a good size and offer a good night sleep. Self contained apartment is well set up.

Room Tip: Self contained units so buy your food at the supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I highly recommend the Darwin Quest Serviced Apartments. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with our 3 children. The rooms are so clean and well cared for and have everything you need, including a spotless, very well equipped kitchen. The staff are so kind and caring and always have a beautiful smile for you and a warm welcome. The Darwin Quest is located within walking distance to Mitchell St, The Esplanade and The Smith Street Mall. It is in a prime location, but amazingly, when you are lazing beside the pool, you would have no idea that you are in the middle of a city.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor which had a sliding door opening on to the lovely sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Excellent for two weeks for a business trip, based on a car in the uderground carpark and going in/out all day at all hours.

Room Tip: what ever- probably don't choose rooms overlooking Woolies supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have been staying in Darwin for work for the last two months and can highly recommend Quest Serviced Apartments for prime location (a few streets away from the busy Mitchell Street) and great service. A recent furniture upgrade has the apartments looking even better and more comfortable and I like the fact there is ample kitchen space for me to prepare meals if not keen on going out for a bite. A couple of staff members named Jessica and Suemac were fantastic ambassadors for the chain and were always uber friendly and helpful with any queries I had regarding things to do and places to eat.
Overall a very comfortable and quiet place to stay.

Patrick W

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Comfortable place to stay and well placed for the city. Visit the open air cinema for a totally different experience.

Room Tip: Book your tours for Kakadu from the tourist office in Darwin to ensure you get on. Recommend Jim-Ji...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cekips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel

Property: Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel
Address: 55 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Advance Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin CBD, Metro Advance Apartments & Hotel offers all the amenities required for the business and leisure traveler. With both short and long term stay options, friendly hospitality and prime location, you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay at Metro Advance Apartments & Hotel, Darwin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Advance Apartments and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing