We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chow! A Taste of South East Asia

Chow! A Taste of South East Asia
Ranked #7 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A taste of South East Asia with a focus on fresh, local produce. Think big steaming bowls of pho & laska's, whole coconuts, bubble teas cocktails, Asian beers, sake bombs, fresh colorful dishes, healthy and tasty, lighthearted and most of all FUN!
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Josie the manager was very caring and friendly. She has made the experience dining at the restaurant even better. We enjoyed speaking to her over the phone while sitting in the restaurant.:) She is a wonderful host.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PooiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear PooiLim,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW! We will be sure to let Josie know that she shone brightly :-)

As a relatively new establishment, we welcome all and any feedback that our patrons provide so that we know where we are going right, and where we may need a little tweaking!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    257
    95
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We called in a week earlier on a Friday night for dinner but without a booking we couldn't get a table. We booked this week and had a very enjoyable dinner. Service was efficient, my pad Thai was very flavor some. Good food, good value. Worth a visit. If going on a Friday or Saturday night it would be worth booking

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear KimleyCairns,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

As a relatively new establishment, we welcome all and any feedback that our patrons provide so that we know where we are going right, and where we may need a little tweaking!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Selection is great - hard to choose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great to see a variety of Asian foods that don't cost an arm or a leg! Service and ambience is impressive. Found the restaurant by reading about it in the QANTAS magazine as I was flying up to Darwin and it lived up to my expectations. Will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Jellat,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

As a relatively new establishment, we welcome all and any feedback that our patrons provide so that we know where we are going right, and where we may need a little tweaking!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was delicious. We started with a selection of entrees - the standout for me were the pork balls but all the entrees were delicious. The mains were really tasty and fresh. Very reasonably priced and good serving sizes too. They were very busy and short staffed but couldn't have been more polite and attentive despite this. The wait staff were all lovely and friendly. We will definitely be back and haven't stopped telling people about Chow since. Good jobs guys!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilless42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Hilless42,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

As a relatively new establishment, we welcome all and any feedback that our patrons provide so that we know where we are going right, and where we may need a little tweaking!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ermahgerdd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We have now been to Chow! 4 times and everytime I have been nothing but impressed.. the food is always amazing, the cocktails and drink selection are like none other seen in Darwin and the service is always 100%.. leaving us feeling welcome from the second we walk in.. to the moment we roll out :) chow! You are nailing it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FOO-dee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear FOO-dee 12,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

As a relatively new establishment, we welcome all and any feedback that our patrons provide so that we know where we are going right, and where we may need a little tweaking!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow! A Taste of South East Asia also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Chow! A Taste of South East Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing