We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

Chow! A Taste of South East Asia
Ranked #6 of 362 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A taste of South East Asia with a focus on fresh, local produce. Think big steaming bowls of pho & laska's, whole coconuts, bubble teas cocktails, Asian beers, sake bombs, fresh colorful dishes, healthy and tasty, lighthearted and most of all FUN!
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the arrival the greeting was so friendly it was going to be interesting if it would continue. Yes, it did. The oysters were delicious, as was the rice pancake - wish I'd ordered more of each! Beef Pho YUM. Couldn't eat all mine & was happy i was able to take home in a doggy bag My friend had Laksa & almost licked the bowl! Norwegian mineral water at $8.50 a bottle and got to keep the bottle..could ask why No Australian mineral water that comes in nice bottles? Smaller carbon footprint perhaps? All good though. Chow - thanks for a great night

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear EstherDarwin,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

We know it will be a long road to ‘perfection’ but we are having fun along the way, and reviews such as yours keep us striving and aiming higher!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    274
    101
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Asian Cuisine”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my second time at Chow after having been for a delicious pocket friendly lunch (wonton and BBQ pork soup- delicious!!!) with some key hospitality staff in Darwin.
The food had been calling me since my last visit and when the girls suggested a ladies night out I suggested Chow immediately.
The hostess seated us straight away despite it being a very busy Friday night - I would definitely advise booking - and advised us of our waitress.
Water was supplied immediately, and throughout the warm Darwin evening, and a drink order taken that arrived promptly.
We perused the extensive menu whilst waiting for the rest of the girls to arrive.
Only only problem - what to order????? So many delicious items to choose from.
A share entree plate maybe added to the menu?
We placed our entree orders and mains at the same time as the kitchen was getting pretty busy.
It was a very pleasant surprise to see how quickly the entrees arrived. I had the green rice flake spring rolls and I would return just to have these again - 5 Decent rolls at a price of $12 is pretty good value in my book. Would have been great to share but they were so good I had then all to myself!! Other winners were the rice paper rolls - you could taste the freshness and a friend commented that were better than the Nightcliff market offering-high praise indeed!! My main was the pho beef soup and it was incredible. A very large serve and I struggled to finish it - maybe I didn't need all 5 of the spring rolls ?
The girls shared lemongrass chicken, the lamb korma, red duck curry, and garlic king prawns. Rice was $3 a person and happily resupplied free of charge once we had finished the original bowls. So much amazing food, we couldn't finish it all.
Our total bill of $45 per head including wine and some premium asian beers was very reasonable. A great venue to share some dishes with friends to enable you to taste all that is on offer!
We all left with very full bellies and happy contented faces discussing when we would be back next! The pineapple and mint crushie and DIY pork pancakes are on the list for next time.
I can honestly say this is one of the best meals I have had in Darwin in nearly 3 years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear JenK1973,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

We know it will be a long road to ‘perfection’ but we are having fun along the way, and reviews such as yours keep us striving and aiming higher!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot. Terrible service.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A couple of friends and I went to chow for the first time. Excited to see what the new chain of nirvana, the deck bar and the arch rival had to offer. Overall, not impressed! The service was poor. we were seated at a table we had booked by a bartender who offered to bring water and when the waitress finally made it to our table accused us of being at the wrong table (which we were not) the waitress changed to another girl who then took our drinks (after we had already been sitting for twenty minutes) we reminded her of our water and she left. Another fifteen minutes later she returned to take our meal order still no water or drinks. Two of our drinks arrived another ten minutes later and still no water. In this time a table had been seated beside us, all with their drinks, water and entrees delivered. Our entrees eventually arrived, and THEY WERE WRONG so they had to be returned. Asked for our third drink (and water) and she said we will have to wait for it she offered a glass of soft drink INSTEAD of the cocktail that was ordered as a complimentary drink. She returned with a soft drink that looked as if she had drank half of it on her way back to the table. Entrees and mains arrived at the same time. Halfway through meals and third drink was delivered in a total of one hour of waiting. After all this we decided not to stay as it seemed we were an inconvenience and we were charged for the complimentary drink! What a joke! The food was average and the service incredibly poor! Will not be going back nor will we recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah12345678901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review of CHOW! We believe that Trip Advisor has been a great tool for gauging how we are doing.

I note that you visited in July, and although there is no explanation for the poor service you believe you received, we are confident that we have come a long way since then.

I would like to invite you to return with a meal for 2 and complimentary cocktail to show how far we have come.

Please contact us at: marketing@themilestonegroup.com.au to organise a night where we may host you again.


Look forward to hearing from you soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great spot in Darwin”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A new restaurant in Darwin that is working really hard to make it. The food and service are both good. It is innovative in menu and cuisine. Both in and outdoor. Popular with both locals and tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Serendipitous02,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

We know it will be a long road to ‘perfection’ but we are having fun along the way, and reviews such as yours keep us striving and aiming higher!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational Meal and Sensational service - its a winning combination”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went for a family dinner and a member of our party wasd highly allergic to chilli - We asked our waiter what foods on the menu did not have chilli in them. After checking with the chef, we were advised to order anything off the menu as the staff would make if from scratch and ensure that no chilli would go near our food. The meal when served was devine, presentation was 110%, taste was out of this world, and you could not have a better location. We found the staff very friendly, efficient and gratious to our every whim. We were delighted and surprised that dining at this restaurant was no expensive at all! Great wine selection also! I would highly recommend this restaurant! In fact we were so impressed we booked it for a birthday party the following week. Meg was all over the organising of the event and all 20 of our friends were astounded at the quality of the meals and have raved about this place ever since. Do yourself a favour and stop by for a great night with top of the line food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissFi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milestone G, Public Relations Manager at Chow! A Taste of South East Asia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MissFi007,

Thank you for your wonderful review of CHOW!

We know it will be a long road to ‘perfection’ but we are having fun along the way, and reviews such as yours keep us striving and aiming higher!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!


Team CHOW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow! A Taste of South East Asia also viewed

 

Been to Chow! A Taste of South East Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing