We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant ashtray disguised as a campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Ranked #15 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived in Darwin to do some sightseeing for a few days. Entry and front counter looked great. Got to campsite at the fence opposite auto wrecking yard an industrial site. About 400 cigarette butts on the sand ground amongst other rubbish. Disgusting. Drove straight out. They had the gall to charge for 1st day for our 10 minute stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rangie9569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are sorry to hear you chose not to stay with us, if you would like to discuss your concerns further please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

From the outside the place looks tropical and great..as soon as you get thru the gate it's another story..poor sites, no room to park car, sandy site covered in cigarette butts lots of workers accommodation and permanents ..not to mention the place is basically a construction site..would have nice to have been told that when we booked! Got out of there as soon as we could..and it's not cheap..future plan or not it's very unpleasant. Hopefully not tainting our impression of the rest of Darwin.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarbear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au if you would like to discuss your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We are currently staying in this park and it is without a doubt the noisiest park I have ever stayed in over the last 10 years of extensive travel.I would not recommend to anyone.We are caravaners requiring powered sites.This park surrounded with heavy noise producers Darwin Airport is across the highway which is next to the park and on the other side is a very large noisy scrap metal yard with all the associated noise of trucks and machinery. The airport does no have a curfew so big jets come and go during the night. Not a park for a restful peaceful stay.Also very dirty and untidy not good for Top Tourist.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank geoffreyp180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss any of the issues please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very expensive for a site that has dusty/noisy works going on and there is a free/cheap site just up the road! This caravan park is crap!! DON'T PAY THE 50% DEPOSIT THEY ASK FOR before you see it!! If you do come here, be carefull that you don't trip and injure yourself on the unmade roads. NOT WORTH THE RISK!. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BULLDOZER SITE.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBiker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au if you would like to discuss the issues you have raised further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is not a cheap place to stay but it absolutely should be. We prebooked and requested 3 caravan parks within reasonably close proximity. Well that was a joke and when we pointed out there was a spare space next to us for one of our companions they were not interested in helping us. There are also construction work going on all over the caravan park which made it dusty, noisy and very difficult to get out of the park.. All in all our stay proved to be 5 days of misery in that park.

Room Tip: Go to a different caravan park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi Frances, Thanks for your feedback - We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want to be close to the city and not pay over $50 per night for a powered van site, this is the park for you. But this would have to be one of the ugliest parks we have ever stayed in. It is completely old and run down - most sites and the roads are dirt (or some roads are broken/uneven concrete). At the power points, there are rakes to smooth out the rocks around your site! Hard to know where your site starts and finishes as the markings are non existent. Very noisy at times as it is very close to the airport - were woken one morning by a large helicopter - was so close we could feel the van shake!! And then there's the construction going on within the park! Pool was nice, but too small for the size of the park. When checking in we knew we were early - were told to arrive at 11 a.m. - we arrived 15 minutes early but had to stand there staring at the office staff until the clock ticked over. The next day we heard they were letting people check in before 11.00. Why rules one day and not the next! Office staff not very friendly at all. Chaos trying to get in and out of the park at certain times of the day - there is a boat sales yard opposite the entrance to the park and quite often there is a large boat parked on the road, making it all congested.
We understand there is a 5 year development plan for this park - no doubt it will be fantastic then ... it just isn't at the moment.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SummerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi SummerAdelaide, Thanks for your review. we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned we are in the process of developing the park and will be sure to address your comments as we do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Camp spaces were not well thought out, tree roots all over the ground, completely over cramped, no shade from the sun. One or two of the staff were nice but mostly they were unfriendly and unhelpful. It's totally over priced. Location was okay, pool area was okay but this campsite is just not worth the money!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackingmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, we will take your comments on board as we further develop our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
1.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
10.6 mi away
Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park
5.2 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Howard Springs
226 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
809 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Darwin

Address: 11 Farrell Crescent, Darwin, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical oasis just waiting for you, only 10 minutes from the heart of paradise - that's Discovery Parks - Darwin. This is the closest park to Darwin City and an essential destination during your Top End adventure.Situated in lush, tropical landscaped gardens and giant shady trees, our park offers ample and spacious accommodation. Choose from a studio, cabin or villa, as well as powered or un-powered sites ideal for holidaymakers or workers alike. If you are a contractor looking for short or long-term accommodation requirements, we can certainly help.You'll love the range of facilities, including the convenience of a full laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers, the spotlessly clean amenities and fantastic BBQ area. Indulge yourself - relax in a sun lounge before taking a dip in our sparkling pool. There's easy internet access from the kiosk and lounge area and ample parking.We pride ourselves on providing customer service which is second to none, including the benefits of local knowledge. There are so many things to see and do, you'll be spoilt for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing