We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy Caravan park!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Parks - Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy Caravan park!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I spent one month in this caravan park, because I was working close.

Worst thing is the noise, the airport is just across the street.
A scrap merchant start work between 7am and 8am, so you can enjoy the steel sounds early in the morning.
In the camp kitchen you got only one hot plate working for the half of the caravan park. The kitchen open only at 7am and close at 9pm, so when you work like me you can't access to the fridge or the kitchen stuff when you finish work. I had to cook with my gas-cooker almost every day.
The electricity shuted down 6 times in one week on my site.
One of the most expensive caravan park but one of the worst...
I just want to forget this caravan park, and you can be sure of one thing, I'll never go back....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our park. We appreciate the time you have taken to outline the areas for improvement. All feedback from our guests is important to us, and you can be assured the matters you have been raised are being followed up by our team. Should you like to further discuss any particular areas of concern with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    17
    21
    34
See reviews for
22
75
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Picton, NSW
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a Deluxe Studio Cabin & haven't got a bad thing to say about our stay.
The staff were very polite & helpful in our decision making for our tours. They even gave us a later check out till 12 as we had a later flight.

The cabins are new & well laid out, the air was on when we arrived which was a nice relief in the heat.

The whole park was well kept & had beautiful tropical gardens. We do alot of camping & tjis park had great facilities for camprrs etc. The sites seemed large with plenty of amenities. Great camp kitchen's as well. The pool was clean & refreshing. There are a mixture of people in the park including backpackers which do occupy the pool at times but I had no issues with them.

For us the location was great as most of our activities were out of the CBD. It was an easy max 10min into Darwin. Petrol & groceries not to far away.

I would definitely stay here again in any capacity as well as recommend it to people I know.

Points to know:
- When you look on a map you will see you are right near the airport so naturally you will hear planes.
- Darwin is hot so having shade by trees is ideal & you have it here.
- Plenty of tour brochures in the office.
- Courtesy bus to the casino
- Darwin on a whole is expensive, it is a capital city after all & you have access to amazing places.

I hope this review helps you out as a lot of the other reviews were bad & im only asumming they have never stayed in a caravan park before?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomes_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Darwin, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your post. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with Discovery Holiday Parks Darwin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We sent a week on a powered site in the rain. This park is indeed very shady which was a little depressing given the climatic conditions but would be most welcome in the blazing sun. The dump was a long way away but the amenities were very good. It was a quiet park handy to town, does have quite a few permanents but we would be happy to go there again although we never like paying $39 for the privilege of planting our wheels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The price was expensive for a piece of ground without power, without grass...
there are not enough facilities in the campground for so many campers.
The staff useless and unpleasant.. I felt like being a cow in a cattle station.
Horrible stay!! just don t go there is other option nearby a lot better

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jupio_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed during Feb 2013. It's now a Discovery Park.

After reading previous reviews, we became unsure if we made the right choice here, but after getting here, I am unsure if those people stayed at the same place we did!

We had a rough trip & when we arrived the lovely ladies on the desk were very cheerful and helpful & put us back into the relaxed spirit.
Any question we asked, they helped us with. And if they didn't know they did their best to find out.
The room was lovely, just what we were after. We stayed in a Studio room, which is pretty new by the looks of it.
We ended up staying extra nights here & looking forward to comig back.
A bigger pool - would be great here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onslow, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Darwin over Xmas and new year 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shady Glen.
The staff were so helpful and pleasant and the covered pool was a godsend.
The weather was hot and humid but the family cabin had airconditioners in all rooms
and a ceiling fan in the kitchen.
The gardens are lush and beautifully landscaped with large trees to provide shade from the sourching sun.Truly a shady glen!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Closest caravan park to town. Very helpful and friendly staff, makes you wonder about the "please treat our employees the way you would like to be treated" signs at the counter. Clean bathrooms, OK laundry (some machines broken). We had a spot in "Shady Lane" and it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
2.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.7 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
5.2 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Darwin

Property: Discovery Parks - Darwin
Address: 11 Farrell Crescent, Darwin, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical oasis just waiting for you, only 10 minutes from the heart of paradise - that's Discovery Parks - Darwin. This is the closest park to Darwin City and an essential destination during your Top End adventure.Situated in lush, tropical landscaped gardens and giant shady trees, our park offers ample and spacious accommodation. Choose from a studio, cabin or villa, as well as powered or un-powered sites ideal for holidaymakers or workers alike. If you are a contractor looking for short or long-term accommodation requirements, we can certainly help.You'll love the range of facilities, including the convenience of a full laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers, the spotlessly clean amenities and fantastic BBQ area. Indulge yourself - relax in a sun lounge before taking a dip in our sparkling pool. There's easy internet access from the kiosk and lounge area and ample parking.We pride ourselves on providing customer service which is second to none, including the benefits of local knowledge. There are so many things to see and do, you'll be spoilt for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Parks - Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing