We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Ranked #15 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We sent a week on a powered site in the rain. This park is indeed very shady which was a little depressing given the climatic conditions but would be most welcome in the blazing sun. The dump was a long way away but the amenities were very good. It was a quiet park handy to town, does have quite a few permanents but we would be happy to go there again although we never like paying $39 for the privilege of planting our wheels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The price was expensive for a piece of ground without power, without grass...
there are not enough facilities in the campground for so many campers.
The staff useless and unpleasant.. I felt like being a cow in a cattle station.
Horrible stay!! just don t go there is other option nearby a lot better

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jupio_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed during Feb 2013. It's now a Discovery Park.

After reading previous reviews, we became unsure if we made the right choice here, but after getting here, I am unsure if those people stayed at the same place we did!

We had a rough trip & when we arrived the lovely ladies on the desk were very cheerful and helpful & put us back into the relaxed spirit.
Any question we asked, they helped us with. And if they didn't know they did their best to find out.
The room was lovely, just what we were after. We stayed in a Studio room, which is pretty new by the looks of it.
We ended up staying extra nights here & looking forward to comig back.
A bigger pool - would be great here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Darwin over Xmas and new year 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shady Glen.
The staff were so helpful and pleasant and the covered pool was a godsend.
The weather was hot and humid but the family cabin had airconditioners in all rooms
and a ceiling fan in the kitchen.
The gardens are lush and beautifully landscaped with large trees to provide shade from the sourching sun.Truly a shady glen!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Closest caravan park to town. Very helpful and friendly staff, makes you wonder about the "please treat our employees the way you would like to be treated" signs at the counter. Clean bathrooms, OK laundry (some machines broken). We had a spot in "Shady Lane" and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just left this caravan park after staying there 6 nights in a studio cabin. In all those days none of the staff never came to clean the cabin, no clean towels, no clean sheets and no beds made for you. I had to go and see the staff for fresh towels once and you had to go and ask for more toilet paper. The service was like none. The cabins were nice and new but that was all.
We wanted to leave 2 nights earlier as we had commitments at home, but was told by reception there was no refund and they were full. They charge you for the whole stay when you arrive. They were not full in the cabins, but what did have to do with anything?
We will not be back there again.

Room Tip: Terrible. No service what so ever and expensive for what you get.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

the most beautiful park in australia, best service (the staff were lovely) we booked in on a saturday and were served by a young lady whos name was 'Tie' and although the two ladies were flat out the both still accomodated our needs perfectly and anwsered all our questions with great enthusiasm. i would stay there again in a heart beat, if the service on the front desk isnt enough to get you in the location is fantastic AND the sites are shady!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
1.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
10.2 mi away
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Howard Springs
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
807 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
4.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Darwin

Address: 11 Farrell Crescent, Darwin, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical oasis just waiting for you, only 10 minutes from the heart of paradise - that's Discovery Parks - Darwin. This is the closest park to Darwin City and an essential destination during your Top End adventure.Situated in lush, tropical landscaped gardens and giant shady trees, our park offers ample and spacious accommodation. Choose from a studio, cabin or villa, as well as powered or un-powered sites ideal for holidaymakers or workers alike. If you are a contractor looking for short or long-term accommodation requirements, we can certainly help.You'll love the range of facilities, including the convenience of a full laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers, the spotlessly clean amenities and fantastic BBQ area. Indulge yourself - relax in a sun lounge before taking a dip in our sparkling pool. There's easy internet access from the kiosk and lounge area and ample parking.We pride ourselves on providing customer service which is second to none, including the benefits of local knowledge. There are so many things to see and do, you'll be spoilt for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Parks - Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing