We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best for it's price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Parks - Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Ballan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not the best for it's price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Not worth it. Lining up in the morning for a dusty site for a motorhome with an ignorant staff member in a burnt orange top was far from desirable for the price. This woman is so ignorant that her alone makes me never want to go back there. Also half the laundry machines were out of order and there shop stocked hardly anything of use or probably more the fact that staff members wouldn't point it out anyway!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Beckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    17
    21
    34
See reviews for
22
75
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent location being a central hub to the city, national parks and other tourist destination.
Professional and friendly staff, a pleasure to do business with.
Good sites, given the option to choose my own.
Amenities are in top condition and cleaned to a very high standard.
The gardens are well maintained with plenty of trees for shade and flowering shrubs, for that country feel.
I have stayed at Shady Glen a no of times and have also stayed in the cabins, all I can say is, "a great experience".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

we paid for a powered site, (one box between 9tents). the short haired women that works on weekends should not have a job. i feel sorry for the manager, she knows how to treat customers, if she witnessed the way that women greets staff with a sneer and acts like a moody teenager if you ask her something, i think she would be embarressed. if u stay here do not expect to be treated like a paying customer on weekends. the staff do not want to be bothered by you, although thats what there paid for!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wow238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a powered site & the space given to us was way too small for our van, with trees way too close together which made it very difficult to get the van in & then the taps were too far away to reach with our hose. The amenities had automatic lighting which meant the lights came on too late & went off too early in the morning & they had no natural lighting. The taps in the showers were also the wrong way around which could be confusing for some. The showers were bordering on unusable as they were either too hot or too cold & the water flowed from one cubicle to the next; very unhygienic. Then to top it off, it's across the road from the airport & it's amazing how many flights leave from Darwin airport when you're trying to sleep! I couldn't find any rubbish bins either. On the positive side; it's in a decent location & has lots of shade. It's cheaper than other parks but I'd rather pay more & enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

During 7 months of travel in Australia, this caravan park was probably the worst we've done.

Not because of the facilities (they are good) but because of the management.

They have a lot of "rules" and it doesn't matter to respect the customer, rules are more important.

After 2 days in a camp site, we were supposed to leave at 10am. But our car was not working (no more battery), so we packed all our stuff and push the car until a parking space. We lived a word on the car with our phone number, and we waited in the kitchen for friends to help us.

The manager came and ask us to pay one more night only because we were still in the camp area. She didn't care about our problem, "the rules are the rules". She should work in a jail and not with customers...

We've done a lot of camp site in australia, most of them have powered and unpowered site. ALL of them let us use the electricity in the bathroom to connect a mobile phone when we were on a unpowered site (in one the owner took our mobiles into his house because there was no power at all...). But in this one they charge you 10$ if they see you using the plug...

There is a lot of caravan parks in Darwin, for the same price it's better to go where friendly people are !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

the location was great wasn,t far from city centr ther was no late nite noise from fellow patrons plenty of space to park prado 4x4 next to cabin ,the new one bedroom villas are well facilitated fully airconditioned ensuite shower all the cooking gear you need very spacious inside,very freindly staff to meet you at reception,and a great pool to cool off in.and the price for the villas was very competitive to other parks value for money here..noise from nearby airport well you soon get used to it and its not that bad,most flights depart when u are haveing breaky in the morning .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statewide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not a pleasant park. As English campervan owners a look of disdain was given as we checked in. We received a space too small for our van and couldn't open the boot. Facilities were airless, no fans or air vents to allow the humidity from showers to escape. Noisy till late at night, we're young and don't mind but it would put a lot of people off. A very average stay and we enjoyed our stay at free spirit far more. It's further away bit you're 10k out at shady glen anyway. If only the greeting was improved it would go a long way in making our experience better. Additionally a v small pool.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
2.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
4.7 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
2.1 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#22 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.2 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Darwin

Property: Discovery Parks - Darwin
Address: 11 Farrell Crescent, Darwin, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical oasis just waiting for you, only 10 minutes from the heart of paradise - that's Discovery Parks - Darwin. This is the closest park to Darwin City and an essential destination during your Top End adventure.Situated in lush, tropical landscaped gardens and giant shady trees, our park offers ample and spacious accommodation. Choose from a studio, cabin or villa, as well as powered or un-powered sites ideal for holidaymakers or workers alike. If you are a contractor looking for short or long-term accommodation requirements, we can certainly help.You'll love the range of facilities, including the convenience of a full laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers, the spotlessly clean amenities and fantastic BBQ area. Indulge yourself - relax in a sun lounge before taking a dip in our sparkling pool. There's easy internet access from the kiosk and lounge area and ample parking.We pride ourselves on providing customer service which is second to none, including the benefits of local knowledge. There are so many things to see and do, you'll be spoilt for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing