We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although I was only there for a couple of days, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's nice to be able to open the floor to ceiling sliding doors. Pool is salt, not chlorine. Staff are excellent. Bay views are stunning, and cleaning staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear William B

I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. It is nice to be able to have fresh air into the room and to stand out on the balcony and enjoy the magnificent views.

Thank you once again. Remember to access our best rates guaranteed to visit doubletree.com. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall pretty good. Nice view and restaurant service for breakfast was excellent. However when booking I was not not told about the renovations happening. it was very noisy ALL DAY inc weekends. This should have been disclosed up front and given me the choice. A/C was way too noisy on low speed. Grille is too small for airflow. Impossible to use on high.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Dave W

Thank you for your comments and I do apologise for the noise issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I am very pleased to advise that the project will be completed next week and that all of the noisy works have finished.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your Wake Up Breakfast in Poolside Restaurant and the service extended to you by the team.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments. The team and I hope to see you on your next visit to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

on the 22nd of march my self n two girl friends stayed at the double tree in Darwin. it was so nice n inviting when we walked in the door they gave us a wonderful 3 pm check out and when need something eg: a bucket of ice or a kettle there was no hesitation n not much wait time. we also ordered a room service meal and im still tasting the juicy steak.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kasey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Kasey D

I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Our team do aim to please, and it is great to see that we hit the mark with both you and your friends.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again on your next night out !

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

While it is currently undergoing some renovations, which may impinge on guest comfort during the day, when completed, the rooms will have very nice bathrooms! My last stay was in a newly renovated room. Great staff, great food in the restaurant and convenient location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback George M.

I am pleased that you liked our new bathrooms, they do make a big difference to the overall in room experience. It is great to see that you enjoyed the food prepared by our team of chefs and the service provided to you.

Thank you once again George M. The team and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is well placed on the esplanade. was undergoing renovations. the furniture was worn out and should be replaced. service was good. quality of breakfast could be improved. some of the furniture was broken and others like the office chair was worn out. The hotel staff were responsive and were happy to listen. The restaurant could be improved and the quality of the breakfast could be better. The elevators did not have fans, this too in Darwin. would like to see how the renovations help to improve this property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Basant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Basant P

Thank you for your post and constructive feedback. This will be shared with our team as part of our continuous improvement process. We are awaiting the arrival of our new desk chairs for our rooms.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel was under going renovation - it should not have been open to guests. Problems included - vibration and noise - making it impossible to speak let alone work Safe didn't work TV didn't work for two days Door key kept failing Room not made up power and water off at 7.00 in morning meaning only water for completing shower was in kettle No hot water on another day

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments Martyn D

I am sorry that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Part of our bathroom renovation process is to change over the water valves throughout the hotel. This has occurred for 2 hours between the hours 10.30 - 12.30. While we did notify all of our guests, I do apologise for the inconvenience that this caused you during your stay.

I dop hope that you will visit us once again and allow us the opportunity to make things right for you.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Would certainly recommend under normal circumstances, but must first check if noisy hotel refurbishment is finished. Construction 8am to 6pm including jackhammers including Sat and Sun. Bathroom was to a very good standard but room and hotel was musty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Mark M

Thank you for your comments about our new bathrooms - I am glad you enjoyed them ! All guest rooms have also had a new air conditioning systems installed along with IPTV which will be activated in May.

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 35 in Darwin
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 35 in Darwin
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 35 in Darwin
2,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $74 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing