We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the BEST hotel to stay in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been staying with this hotel for well over two years on my trips to town, as I live remote from Darwin. I have never once had a bad experience the staff are always very welcoming, Nathan and his team on reception are great, its like coming back to family. Yes the property has a little bit of age on it, but we all do. The rooms are always spotless, the beds great and the pillows are SENSATIONAL.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your post Jason Y and for being such a loyal guest to our hotel. It is always pleasing when a guest takes the time to recognise our team. Nathan and the Front Desk team do a great job and it is fantastic to see them recognised in a public forum such as Trip Advisor.

Thanks again Jason, we look forward to welcoming you back to your "second home" one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was looking forward to a 6 day break in Darwin and thought the Doubletree in Darwin would be amongst the best. Disappointing to say the least. Average, average, average. Facilites in the room were minimal, service in the restaurants, they tried. Location is excellent. Place needs a facelift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Dennis215

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I apologise that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Your opinion does matter to us and I have shared your commetns with the team so we can improve.

Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Room great but corridors dark/ carpets old - could do with a refurbishment/ repaint. Pool area great in afternoons - shady in PM - very relaxing on the sun beds provided. Pool a bit cold though. Hotel internet expensive but free internet available in lobby.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kiwiwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear kiwiwelsh
Thank you for your post and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be looking to make some changes in our corridors in the new year to make them brighter. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.
Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are two Doubletree hotels side by side on the Esplanade in Darwin, which is a little confusing to start with. We are Hilton Honors member and have stayed at dozens of different Hilton hotels but this one was the sparest we've ever stayed at. No coffee maker,not even a notepad or pen. The breakfast was good if expensive - Continental breakfast was 21.95a full breakfast was 28.95. The rooms were comfortable but a chest of drawers would have been useful. The front of the hotel overlooked a lovely park and the rear backed on to Mitchell Street which is packed with restaurants and bars. There is a charge for WiFi but the person at the front desk did say we could have 20 minutes free in the lobby area

Room Tip: The rooms on the back overlook the pool and some apartments but you are right in the middle of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Lindatee

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. The coffee maker program is normally only in our hotels in the Americas and is not in any of our hotels in Australasia. There should have been a note pad and pen in your room and I apologise for this housekeeping oversight.

I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Darwin and the Top End and we wish you sfae travels. We hope to see you back at a Hilton Worldwide property one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just right, in the heart of the city of Darwin. A great hotel. Plenty of parking. Clean comfortable & spacious rooms. Staff were always smiling and helpful. A walk away from parks, restaurants & shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Maurice P

Thank you for your comments and it is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback about our team - thank you !!

Maurice, we do hope to see you once again when you next visit Darwin. Remember to make your next reservation through DoubleTree.com to secure your best rate guaranteed.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent hotel,great location as easy access to the city and locations of interest.was extremely clean and comfortable, friendly staff and very helpful, yummy breakfast, we had a very pleasant stay, would stay again, recommended!

Room Tip: recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Jennifer P

I am pleased that you really enjoyed your time with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin. Our Wake Up breakfast by DoubleTree by Hilton is a gerat way to start the day. Thank you for taking the time to recognise our great team.

We do hope to see you again one day soon. To access our best rate guaranteed, remember to go to DoubleTree.com

Thanks again

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Make sure you specify for a room overlooking the harbour, the view is incredible at sunset and to watch the passing boats from the. Juilet balcony. Perhaps needs a refit as looking a little tired but after all, this hotel did survive Tracy. After paying over $300 a night, to be asked for another 20+ dollarsfor wifi in the room is a bit rich. Would prob not rebook here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Barina61

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. The views are amazing at sunset from our Harbour View rooms. We do offer compliementray WiFi access in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Diamond and Gold guests do receive complimentary access throughout the property.

Thank you once again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 35 in Darwin
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 35 in Darwin
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 35 in Darwin
2,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $74 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing