We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$136
$124
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$132
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$160
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$99
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$126
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$164
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveler rating
381
552
252
88
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
552
252
88
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treea harbour view roommitchell streetroom servicesmall balconyreception staffpool areaacross the roadwet seasontop endchecking inbit datedbuffet breakfastnice poolesplanadebalconieskakadu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,028 - 1,033 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a very good hotel. The location is good, the staff are courteous and friendly, the rooms are a good size - all in all, it's pretty good. But it's the small things that stop it being great. Broken door on one of the small cupboards, no ventilation in toilet or brush for that matter. Room service was extensive but a tad pricey for what you got. But the positives do outweigh the negatives and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robkanandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Robkanandwill,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
I was happy to learn that all in all you enjoyed your stay and more importantly you noticed the friendliness and courteousness of our staff. The team will be delighted to hear about your feedback.
I have also noted your observations regarding some of the broken items in the room and we will get this fixed immediately, if not done already. You would be happy to know that the bathrooms also are in the pipeline to get upgraded soon.
We are in the process of reviewing our menus and I will check with the chef that all dishes present a value for money proposition in relation with the price and quality of the ingredients.
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon.
Best Regards,

Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My second home!! Love this place every time I come here. The rooms are always great and maintained and what's better is the staff. Always helpful !! always smiling !! Would recommend to any traveller as a great place that feels homey and friendly from the beginning

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephjade85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Stephjade85,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your time to review our hotel.
It was great to have you back at the hotel and we certainly feel that you (and every other guest) become part of our hotel family every time you come and stay with us.
The team will get very excited when I share this feedback with them and I will keep encouraging them to make every guest’s stay memorable. This will also be a timely motivator for them as we are getting into the busy period, as the Darwin weather transforms and promises to deliver beautiful sunny days and magical sunsets!
We can’t wait to see you again. In the meanwhile please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas and the Holiday Inn Darwin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Three nights here. Lovely ocean view. The room was very big and quiet. Great tropical pool area to relax in after a hot day of sight seeing. Situated close to CBD area with lots of restaurants. Very quick drive to wharf area, where harbour cruises depart.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingymooBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikMalhotra, Acting Operations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear MingymooBrisbane,
Thank you for your succinct description of our hotel. Having just arrived in Darwin and staying in house I can relate, and agree with your comments. I must say I am enjoying it so far too. There is a lot to do in the local area and heaps to explore out and about.

We hope to see you in the near future. In the meantime please take care.

Best Regards
Vikas & Team
Holiday Inn Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I heard that Hilton is buying this hotel, and the one next door, which could explain why a refurb looks a bit like it's waiting to happen. Lets hope that's the only thing that changes, as this was a great, friendly, and comfortable find, completely in sync with the casual tropical feel of the city itself. The sea view room was large and comfortable, with a fantastic view of those special orange sunsets. The laundry room was a welcome addition if you're travelling a lot. But the highlight has to be the great staff who always seemed to know the answer, and never stopped smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Operations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear mudpuppy24,

As a Top Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and especially the staff members. We take great pride in ensuring that we offer the best possible guest experience in Darwin. The sunsets and lightning in the evenings have been spectacualr recently and I am glad that you had an Oceanview room to enjoy.

You are correct in the fact that the hotel will be changing management companies, howvever our owners and the the staff will stay the same here at the hotel and I am confident that they will continue to deliver a quality guest experience.

Safe travels, and thank you for visting the N.T.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the Holiday Inn in November 2012, using it as a base to tour the nearby sights of NT. The Irish girl at reception made check in a pleasant and efficient experience. We didn't bother with a sea view room as we were on long tours most days and would have missed the sunset by the time we got back to the room. The twin room was a of very good standard with fridge and tea / coffee facilities, large flatscreen TV, air con, safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. All worked. We were delighted with having a choice of pillows, the soft towels and the range of complimentary toilities. The small balcony overlooked the swimming pool. The pool area had sunbeds and towels although the one time we had to relax there. late afternoon, was cut short by a thunderstorm but it was great craic to see the lightening from the safety of our room. We had breakfast there at an additional charge and this was OK. We also had a few evening meals and enjoyed the quality of the food. But you would get a cheaper meal in the many bars and fast food outlets on Mitchell Street, the parallel street behind the hotel. The hotel is convenient to the bus station.
Overall we enjoyed the warm welcome and efficient and friendly service and would therefore highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvthesunx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Operations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear luvthesunx2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your review was very comprehensive and detailed which is fantastic for other customers to read. The lightning storms have been spectacular this Wet season and are definetley something to observe. I am delighted to read that you has so many opportunites to visit all of the region around Darwin and use this as a base.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for visting the N.T.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews