We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with Helpful staff but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is located along the Esplanade, which happens to be at the ''quiet'' area of the city, compared to those located along Mitchell St. Upon check-in, I mentioned my name and was immediately given 7 sets of cardkeys for 7 rooms. Rooms were comparatively bigger than those I have been to (Capetown SA, London, Bastille Paris, China, Sydney etc) but the bathroom definitely needs some repairs. Food at the restaurant were good but took a long time to appear at our table. The Front desk team were very helpful esp Richard.
Don't know why room rates are more expensive here than in other parts of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hapiness168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a King Harbour View Balcony room, the room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The balcony is just a juliet balcony so you cant sit out on it which is a bit of a shame as the view over the harbour is beautiful. The room had been updated but the bathroom needs remodelling as it was cramped and toilet cistern was stained with mould as there is no ventilation in the bathroom, the shower was over the bath, and as previous reviewer said the bath flexed under foot. We ate in the restaurant one night and our meals were lovely and the staff were efficient and friendly. he location is great, a short walk to shops and restaurants and within walking distance to wharf area. I would stay here again, especially if they refurb the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna57Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KengikN, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Donna57Melbourne,

Glad to hear that you had enjoyed the comfortable bed and that you were able to have a lovely dining experience in our Poolside Restaurant. Please be assured that I will pass on your positive feed back to the team.

Regards

Nathan Kengike
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pretty much standard fare Holiday Inn, same as you find anywhere. Bathroom definitely overdue for a refit, no exhaust fan, shower head over an aging plastic bath that flexes under your feet. Looks like they painted over the bathroom tiles with an acrylic or plastic based paint a few years ago, now peeling off in large flakes! Attentive, helpful reception staff. Restaurant average, Darwin hotels are pricey anywhere at this time of year (May - August), but much better food fare to be found elsewhere in the city at a more reasonable price. You expect when in the tropics that a "Tropical Fruit Platter" for $12 is going to be really something. Not a sad array of a single strawberry, two whole kiwifruit (it was very acidic), some rockmelon slices, and some underripe honeydew (not pleasant!) Nothing that can't be grown pretty much anywhere in Australia (or New Zealand. Nothing tropical about that!) Noticed that the same fruit was offered at breakfast as part of the buffet.
Didn't notice any undue noise from other guests or surrounding buildings whilst we were in our room, apart from 6am visits from the garbage truck at the rear of the premises. Rooms are not overly spacious, but we weren't in it much.
I'd stay again, (beds were comfy) but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee7WesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There are 2 Holiday Inns side by side on the Esplanade. This one at 122 The Esplanade is the older 1 and has 10 storeys. The good thing is this hotel has just bern refurbished and rooms are now done up in neutral tones of beige, grey & brown. A little boring but was peaceful and soothing. The room had a great comfy bed (probably felt so good after a 4 camping day tour ). The room was overall very comfortable and had all the necessary mod cons once expects in a 4 star establishment. We particularly liked the reading spotlight on each side of the headboard - the light focussed on an area instead of spreading out. Perfect for a night time read without disturbing your bed partner! The bathroom was kind of spruced up but a full renovation with brand new modern style facilities would have matched the room better.

The pool was refreshing but small. The good thing is you are allowed to go next door to the HI Esplanade where they have a much bigger pool. Service overall was excellent - staff were chirpy, friendly & very helpful. Cannot find any fault with the hotel excpt the price! But this seems to be the going rate in Darwin(by far - alot more expensive than other Australian cities). We bought our stay via Expedia (mystery 4 star hotel for approx $250 a night).

I would recommend the hotel - look out for offers as the usual price makes it very expensive!

Room Tip: Excellent restaurant called Char down the road but book in advance if you want a table in their char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed there for three nights with my wife in August 2012, having previously visited it two or three times some ten or more years ago. It has been updated quite nicely; the rooms are generally well furnished and fitted, though the mattress was too soft for us and the bathroom was poorly ventilated. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Located just at the edge of the CBD, it is an easy walk into town and there is also the lovely park across the road which borders the central harbour and contains many memorials of Darwin's history.
Overall: fair value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the eastern side - avoids the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights, However I was quite dissappointed. While the hotel is in a good location, close to cafes, shops etc I felt it was definitely overpriced. My room, at the back of the hotel was spacious but dated, with a stained carpet. The shower (over the bath) was difficult to regulate, either too hot or too cold, with low pressure. (There was also no fan vent in the bathroom). And the toilet was badly stained. I found one evening quite cold and when I asked for heating was told there was none, and given a blanket to huddle in. I also felt that $5.00 for 30min internet use was too much. Probably one of the more basic hotels that I have stayed in, but definitely not the cheapest.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G0ingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KengikN, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear G0ingback,

From your review I can see that we didn’t meet your expectations and for this I apologise. I appreciate the constructive feedback and will share this with the team, as we look to improve our service.

If you do travel to Darwin again, please let me know as we would sincerely appreciate a second opportunity for an enjoyable stay.

Regards

Nathan Kengike
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for week in a pool view king bed room and it was excellent. The beds were amazing, the choice of pillow softness excellent and the updated rooms looked fantastic! Very modern and appealing. The staff were wonderful, I could not speak highly enough of everyone that I spoke to. I love the fact that the staff all had a great sense of humour and knew exactly when it was appropriate to let that shine through. Gorgeous decking area outside the restaurant and the breakfast each day was superb. We also ate dinner a number of times at the hotel and the food was excellent. It was also great that you could have a 'real' coffee made for you at almost anytime of the day or night as it was available at the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrystalQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear CrystalQ
We could not ask for a better review and the team here were so pleased to read about your recent stay. At Holiday Inn we want our guests to ‘’be themselves’’ and this goes for the staff also. We genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $75 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing