We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

From the outside the Holiday Inn looks very tired and old however the interior cannot be faulted. The rooms were modern and clean with all the basic ammenties. However it did seem we spent more time on the balcony than in the room. Sipping a beer while watching the sunset or with a lightning storm in the distance was truely amazing. The staff are great and genuinely friendly (the receptionist from Adelaide).

Room Tip: Higher the better, and sea views a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farva222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear farva222

We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to savour our great harbour views! At this time of year you are almost guaranteed a storm which adds to the spectacular view over the Arafura Sea.

Our staff genuinely want for you to have a great stay and I have passed on your comments to the ‘’receptionist from Adelaide’’ who was really pleased to receive your feedback.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    491
    225
    74
    32
See reviews for
179
421
72
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a short stop over on my way overseas. It was very clean, comfortable and in great proximity to the main town centre. Breakfast buffet was ready very early in the morning (we had a super early flight to catch). We used this hotel for all of our team's travel. Front desk staff could possibly be a bit more communicative regarding special arrangements set by the company (ie meals included, etc). But definitely happy with the hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canaus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Canaus78

Thank you for your review and feedback. Darwin is an ideal city for a stopover, especially if travelling onto Asia. Monday through Friday we offer a 3am full breakfast for those that have early flights or day tours to Kakadu or Litchfield National Parks.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to group arrangements & communication and what we can offer to ensure that you get all the information you need.

We hope to welcome you back in 2012.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel is very well situated on the Esplanade and only a short walk from shops and restaurants. The bedroom we were allocated, presumably like all the others, was spacious and very well furnished, with a king size bed.
Everything needed to satisfy the traveller is to hand.
Staff were efficient and friendly. The food in the hotel restaurant - we were hit by a nearby cyclone - was delicious and there was plenty of it. All in all a very nice hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Ardfernbob

Thank you for posting a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay even during the threat of Cyclone Grant! Our rooms are all very similar with either a King bed or two Double beds and all are recently refreshed.

I noticed from your reviews that you travel extensively. Have you joined Priority Club Rewards? It’s free and a great way to earn rewards at all our properties worldwide.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Ex Travel lodge ex Centra hotel has great views. Spongey bed, place feels tired. Tiny balcony is a great feature though. Staff are also excellent.

Bit weird having 2 Holiday Inns next door to each other. Would I stay again? Probably not. There are plenty of newer & less tired places to stay. Good location for town though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear olig

Thank you for your review. We’re disappointed you felt that Holiday Inn Darwin is tired. We only recently refurbished our guest rooms, lobby and business centre.

Thank you for acknowledging our excellent service and great harbour views!

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A lovely room, a great view, friendly service, good food - but room service was overwhelmed the night I used it - 1 hour wait for dinner and another hour for dessert!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear RichardJStokes

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that room service took so long to deliver your meal and dessert. This is not our normal practise and your feedback has been discussed at our recent meeting.

We’re glad though that you enjoyed your guest room and our friendly service.

Wishing you all the best for future travels.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great view and located in a good location not far from everything. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Feznik

Thank you for visiting Darwin. Reading your reviews, I can see that you have been able to recommend a number of attractions that Darwin has to offer and I’m sure your reviews will be helpful for future travellers to our great city.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

At first I thought Holiday Inn Darwin would be outdated but because of their recent refresh, I was pleased with my stay here. Booked a deluxe room facing the harbour and the views were magnificent. The room was clean, and the carpets didn't smell old and moldy. We were pleased with or stay for the price we paid. Buffet breakfast was good too. They served freshly squeezed fruit juices. They also have a toddler pool which my five month old bub enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Kapresto

Thank you for your recent review. Are you a member of our Priority Club? It’s free to join and will let you know when we have member offers available.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back next time you choose to stay in Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.9 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing