We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$136
$124
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$160
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$138
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$99
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$126
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$164
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveler rating
381
552
252
88
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
552
252
88
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treea harbour view roommitchell streetroom servicesmall balconyreception staffpool areaacross the roadwet seasontop endchecking inbit datedbuffet breakfastnice poolesplanadebalconieskakadu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and son stayed here for 2 nights on route to Bali. The room had a lovely view and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it! Pillows were dreamy. I had left Melbourne feeling unwell and only wanted a bowl of water melon which was sent up to our room and was absolutely delicious. A staff member we met in reception (possibly the Manager)? was so helpful and friendly in organising this for me and providing information about Darwin and day trips. I am sure if I had felt better i would have enjoyed a cocktail and meal in what looked like a very nice restaurant. Oh well there is always next time. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balichick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on route to Bali. Being only a short flight to Bali, Darwin is a great stopover – shame that you were feeling unwell!

The team here really enjoyed reading your review, thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Hope that you enjoyed your trip to Bali!

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I booked at the Darwin Holiday Inn and was very pleased with the layout and modern well appointed decor of the 9th floor room. While this is the older of the two Holiday Inns, having stayed at the Holiday Inn Esplanade, I can say you won't be disappointed. I had a very good view, plenty of room and a comfortable bed and choice of pillows.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view from the higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. Whilst being the older of the two Holiday Inn hotels on the exterior we do have refreshed modern interior and great views of the harbour from many of our rooms.

Thank you also for posting reviews for dining options in Darwin, I’m sure others travelling to Darwin will find these very helpful when planning a visit.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel i had a very cheap wot hotel rate. I had a room over the pool on level 5 it was refurbished with twin queen beds a large flat screen tv and small balcony. There's a range of pillow choices and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever had. The pool is smallish but neat and clean and in the scheme of others I saw it's about normal size for pools here. The staff were lovely and friendly. I didn't eat but the poolside dining area looked great. It's a bit far away from the shops but nothing is that far away in Darwin and cabs are plentiful and cheap. All in all a fantastic experience. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review. My colleagues and I really enjoy receiving reviews as it they are a good reminder of how we are faring. Our rooms have been recently refreshed, including all new beds, and you will find at all Holiday Inn hotels across the world the choice of firm and soft pillows.

Its a shame that you didn’t get to make use of the Poolside Restaurant, we offer a comprehensive breakfast buffet, all day lunch and some great local produce features on our dinner menu.

Hope that you have a great week ahead and thank you again for posting a review.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

When we arrived we went to the wrong Holiday Inn - one is old and the other new. We discovered we were in the old hotel. Although the exterior of the building was dated, the interior was very attractive and our room was nicely appointed with a calming decor and very comfy beds. Parking is in a lot to the side of the hotel or on the street. We were lucky and scored a spot on site. The restaurant although small served very yummy food including a Top End tasting plate. Breakfast was excellent too and could be eaten poolside. The pool was not very inviting - very dark and overlooked by other buildings. The hotel has an interesting history - it was opened only a few months before Cyclone Tracy hit and was one of the few buildings that remained standing. Be sure to check out the scrap book by the retaurant's entrance. We were just a few blocks from the retail heart of Darwin and numerous restaurants yet the hotel was quiet. Could here the Saturday night revellers for a short while. The view from our room was vast - overlooking a lovely park and beyond was an expansive view of the ocean (180 degrees). There was a very small balcony from which to enjoy the view. (The newer hotel had no balconies). We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Darwin. The team here were thrilled to receive your comments, especially the Poolside Restaurant.

Our hotel does have an interesting history having weathered Cyclone Tracy. Did you happen to see the photo of the car protruding from the hotel pool? It is the same pool we have today (albeit with some small changes over the years). Did you know that as a guest of either Holiday Inn you are more than welcome to make use of either hotel pool?

Glad to hear though that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August - the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern (although from the outside it doesn't look like it), the pool is well located so you don't back in the sun all day and breakfast was awesome, the only down side was having to park in the sun as there is no undercover carpark, would definately stay here again
All rooms have a view, although the "balcony" is more of a ledge - you can't really sit out there.

Room Tip: ask for a room high up
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review after your stay in August. Looking at your profile, you have travelled extensively so we really appreciate your positive comments. For future stays we can offer an alternative for those that would prefer undercover parking, our sister property (Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin) located right next door offers undercover parking, likewise they also have a pool with full sun! But for those who prefer a tropical style pool with plenty of shade, our pool area is perfect.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Darwin.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews