We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations. Clean, fresh, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Hobart Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations. Clean, fresh, great staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel i had a very cheap wot hotel rate. I had a room over the pool on level 5 it was refurbished with twin queen beds a large flat screen tv and small balcony. There's a range of pillow choices and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever had. The pool is smallish but neat and clean and in the scheme of others I saw it's about normal size for pools here. The staff were lovely and friendly. I didn't eat but the poolside dining area looked great. It's a bit far away from the shops but nothing is that far away in Darwin and cabs are plentiful and cheap. All in all a fantastic experience. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review. My colleagues and I really enjoy receiving reviews as it they are a good reminder of how we are faring. Our rooms have been recently refreshed, including all new beds, and you will find at all Holiday Inn hotels across the world the choice of firm and soft pillows.

Its a shame that you didn’t get to make use of the Poolside Restaurant, we offer a comprehensive breakfast buffet, all day lunch and some great local produce features on our dinner menu.

Hope that you have a great week ahead and thank you again for posting a review.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    504
    236
    79
    35
See reviews for
190
436
74
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

When we arrived we went to the wrong Holiday Inn - one is old and the other new. We discovered we were in the old hotel. Although the exterior of the building was dated, the interior was very attractive and our room was nicely appointed with a calming decor and very comfy beds. Parking is in a lot to the side of the hotel or on the street. We were lucky and scored a spot on site. The restaurant although small served very yummy food including a Top End tasting plate. Breakfast was excellent too and could be eaten poolside. The pool was not very inviting - very dark and overlooked by other buildings. The hotel has an interesting history - it was opened only a few months before Cyclone Tracy hit and was one of the few buildings that remained standing. Be sure to check out the scrap book by the retaurant's entrance. We were just a few blocks from the retail heart of Darwin and numerous restaurants yet the hotel was quiet. Could here the Saturday night revellers for a short while. The view from our room was vast - overlooking a lovely park and beyond was an expansive view of the ocean (180 degrees). There was a very small balcony from which to enjoy the view. (The newer hotel had no balconies). We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Darwin. The team here were thrilled to receive your comments, especially the Poolside Restaurant.

Our hotel does have an interesting history having weathered Cyclone Tracy. Did you happen to see the photo of the car protruding from the hotel pool? It is the same pool we have today (albeit with some small changes over the years). Did you know that as a guest of either Holiday Inn you are more than welcome to make use of either hotel pool?

Glad to hear though that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in Darwin.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August - the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern (although from the outside it doesn't look like it), the pool is well located so you don't back in the sun all day and breakfast was awesome, the only down side was having to park in the sun as there is no undercover carpark, would definately stay here again
All rooms have a view, although the "balcony" is more of a ledge - you can't really sit out there.

Room Tip: ask for a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review after your stay in August. Looking at your profile, you have travelled extensively so we really appreciate your positive comments. For future stays we can offer an alternative for those that would prefer undercover parking, our sister property (Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin) located right next door offers undercover parking, likewise they also have a pool with full sun! But for those who prefer a tropical style pool with plenty of shade, our pool area is perfect.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Darwin.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Well located, well kept, quiet hotel
Room and bed were very comfortable
Friendly helpful staff giving 24Hr service
We paid a bit extra for the view and was happy with the result

Room Tip: I would suggest 4th floor or higher with bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed 7 notes total. 1 nite before heading out on a tour. Reception staff were very helpful and we left our big bag here while we went on a 3 day tour. Great to return to our harbor view room on the 7th floor. Older hotel but been totally updated not sure what other bathrooms were like but in both our rooms they were fine, little dated but clean. Lights came on low but didn't take too long to get to full power. Great location and all staff in the hotel were great. Will definitely stay here if we come back to Darwin. Thanks for making our stay so great.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor and room at front for harbor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting such positive comments about your recent stay and for also reviewing some great places to visit whilst in Darwin. Your reviews are very helpful for those planning a trip to our great city. My colleagues and I are pleased that we were able to ensure you had a great stay at the hotel and would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Rooms updated since my last visit, now clean lines, modern. On 9th floor facing back into the city but can still see the sea, very nice view. Only little grouch is that volume of the TV is locked too low, so can hardly hear southpark over sound of aircon. Other than tha, good value hotel in convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecrobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for returning to Holiday Inn Darwin for your recent stay. We have renovated our guest rooms including all new cabinetry, bedding, linen, LCD televisions and more. We will however review the volume of the TV, since we would still like for you to enjoy your favourite shows when away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to Darwin when you visit next.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights in July - perfect time to visit Darwin. We had just finished a 10 day caming tour and it was so luxurious to havea soak in the bath, with plenty of gorgeous, fluffy towels. Service was fantastic, from having a room made up (with a choice of pillow) to the buffet breakfast, we loved every minute. The sheets on teh bed were so crisp, and the rooms were a decent size so you could spread and and enjoy the view. We had a "City view" suite, but we still had plenty of water views too. Nice and close to eveything, even Mindle Beach markets were only a 20 min walk away.

Room Tip: Not quite sure how, as we were on a discounted rate...but we ended up with a room on the top flooor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAng_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. July is a very nice time to visit Darwin. Currently the temperatures are still pleasant as we head into our wet season when we’ll soon get to experience spectacular storms. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room, especially the new linen and choice of pillows. All Holiday Inn hotels have been ‘refreshed’ and you will find the choice of soft and firm pillows in all our hotels.
All the best for the remainder of the year.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.6 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing