We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Central Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel, clean and comfy”
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We booked a 2 level room, which had 1 half bath, fridge, desk, and couch on the main level, and bed, bath, closet, and safe upstairs. No door between up and downstairs. They have a pillow "menu", but my selection was all taken. Sheets were crisp and clean. Secure parking underground, you need to get a few tokens when you check in to get out of the lot free (or pay $7). We are Priority Club members, and asked for and received a quiet room at the end of the hall. Slow check in, but otherwise fine. Internet expensive, did not use it. We did not eat at the hotel, but would highly recommend Haunaman's (just outside on Mitchell St?). It was the best meal of our two+ weeks in Australia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregoniantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    430
    315
    109
    61
See reviews for
174
397
94
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Having stayed at this chain in other countries, I was curious to see how this hotel would rate. A friend recommended it. Check in was good - I was given a room on the top floor overlooking the water. Sadly, the windows are so dirty, it was tough to enjoy it. The rooms have been remodelled in the past decade and were a reasonable size. The pool was nice, although a little ragged around the edges. The gym was adequate. Cleanliness was not stellar - I found alot of hair in the bathroom and poor cleaning of the glasses. Other issues were minor - the TV reception was very poor and only a very few channels. If you are looking to enjoy Mitchell Street and the mall, this is a little further away than other hotels but Darwin is not a big place. It was quiet.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonedigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoniqueHarmer, Executive Assistant Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, March 22, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We certainly value your opinion and will be using your feedback to enhance the quality of the product and service we offer.

With regards to our exterior windows, due to the constant rain during the wet season in Darwin they unfortunately become marked with salt and dust from the air. We will be looking to have these cleaned shortly.

Regarding the cleanliness issues in your room, this is certainly not indicative of our normal high standards. I have followed up with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure ongoing training with our team.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards
Monique Harmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Hotel and room was nice. The window wouldn't open though and our view was obstructed by a strip of concrete which made it a little bit dark. It was nice and modern though and we didn't spend a lot of daylight hours in the room

The pool area was superb; very large and quiet. Breakfasts were good.

Nice hotel - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I travel into Darwin a fair bit to work, and try to stay at the Holiday Inns or Crowne Plaza to collect Priority Club points. This was my first stay at the Holiday Inn Esplanade.

The hotel is well located and quite well set up. It's not desperate for a facelift like the Holiday Inn next door, nor is it as classy as the Crowne, but it's still pretty good. I was upgraded to a two-room suite, which was nice. About the only criticism I'd have of the room was that the shower was tiny and it was impossible to stop water flooding over the bathroom floor - not a major deal.

The pool is the best out of the three IC Hotels and free parking is a plus. The public areas of the hotel are very nice. A downside is that it can be a bit of a hike from the lift to your room if you're in the east wing.

If you're like me and after the Priority Club points, here's the other hotels in a nutshell:

- Holiday Inn Darwin has the daggiest rooms, but the harbour view rooms would have to be the best of the bunch in terms of view. Free parking and affordable room service. This hotel is the 'furthest away' from 'downtown' but this isn't a huge deal - still walkable. This hotel is usually the cheapest, particularly in the dry season.

- Crowne Plaza has the nicest rooms and the classiest atmosphere - but it's the most expensive. Well located, but parking is $15 and room service is a bit pricey. Nice views from the high floors, but you're still a block back from the Esplanade.

  • Liked — Location, affordability, free parking, pool
  • Disliked — No lift in East Wing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Just stayed a week at the Holiday Inn Darwin and was impressed with the customer service at the hotel, especially with Kane, who hosted a complementary thursday night happy hour near the lobby. The suite we stayed in was nice and comfortable but the water pressure from the shower was substandard and took away from the experience of staying at the hotel. Also the pool was dirty and in need of renovation. Overall an ok experience but not worth the $250-$350 we paid a night during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank merk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serpentine, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed 5 nights while on vacation in Darwin. Booked through the hotel directly. It was quite expensive at around $200+ per night, however on arrival there we were pleased with the offerings. The room was clean, tidy and reasonably modern. All facilities oyou would expect of a 4 star hotel. Restaurant food and drink was on the expensive side but food quality was good. Has a great pool scene. We have booked to stay here again soon, would definatly recommend it.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Food and drink a little pricey!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awarnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaNT, Director of Sales and Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, October 7, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent visit to Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin. Your positive comments and recommendation make us proud and will be passed onto our staff.

Warm Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

2 nights here for work. Check in OK although a bit brain dead from a 1 am arrival. I was given an upgrade to a suite on the top floor. Nice room but all in all I could have lived without the upgrade.

The suites are quite pleasant rooms with lounge room, desk and bathroom downstairs, up - steep - stairs to bedroom with ensuite and good sized robe. Would have been great if a leisure stay and I was spending some time in the hotel - however I was basically just there to sleep.

The big minus about this suite was that it was adjacent to the lifts and the intermittent whirring of lift machinery through the night is NOT conducive to a good nights sleep.

Next morning I found another issue; maybe there is a water pressure problem up top (seems unlikely) or maybe it was just my room but I could only get a trickle of not very hot water out of the shower.

Checked out a work mate's regular room and it looked like ... a regular room. As stock standard as a hotel room gets, but quite reasonably sized.

Never went near the restaurant (The eateries at the marina at Cullen Bay are a pleasanter alternative than any hotel restaurant)

Location of the Hotel is great, I went for it because it was on the Esplanade - there are several hotels along there - and if you have the right room you get a nice sea view. Only a block to Mitchell Street and the City Centre and the Mantra Esplanade where my conference was.

Assuming the water problem was a one off the suites are well worth taking if offered, and if staying for a while would be worth paying the extra for, so long as you don't mind climbing the stairs to bed every night and don't have a room next to the lift.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hot water pressure
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaNT, Director of Sales and Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, October 7, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for providing feedback from your recent visit to Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin. Your feedback enables us to continually improve our levels of service and guest satisfaction.

Based on your feedback we have been able to have engineering investigate the water pressure issues in your room and make some changes to the water flows to address this problem.

I apologise that the lifts affected your sleep as we beleive this is the most important part of any guest stay. This is a difficult area for us to change however it is a priority and we will discuss with maintainence and other members of our team to see if we can find a solution.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Warm Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#16 of 36 in Darwin
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minute drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a suite for stunning harbor views and a separate living area. Studio lofts are also available. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. Dine al fresco on the sun-soaked terrace of our poolside restaurant and bar, Aqua, where you can enjoy dishes prepared with Mediterranean and Territory influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing