We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was once a holiday inn and is awaiting a bit of a spruce up.
However it has a certain charm about it despite being a bit dated. Feels like a luxury hotel from 20 years ago! very comfortable room, good size and amazing bed. Niggles - broken hair dryer, no pen or bottle opener in room, with fi that you have to pay for (come on - this is 2013!). It was good value generally though so as long as you get a decent price the hotel makes a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nastechautobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Nastechautobin

Thank you for your post and I am glad that you had a great nights sleep in our wonderful beds. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 days 4 nights. Our sheets were not changed for all the 4 nights we were in the hotel. Had rashes since first night. The house keeping did not clear the hair in the toilet for all the 5 days. I have long hair so it's very obvious on the ground. Shower cubicle has leakage which allowed the shower water to flow to the toilet bowl area... Left our used cups and glass on the table before we went out. When we arrived back, the cups and glasses were put back nicely onto the shelves, but when we were going to use them, we realized that the cups were not washed (obvious as the chocolate powder stain was still there) and the glasses still have lip stains.

Overall, it's a horrible stay. Will never come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Choo Y

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your feedback as it helps me to understand what we do well and where we can improve.

I am sorry that we have not met your expectations, your opinion matters and I have shared these with the team so we can improve. Consistency in standards is important and it is disappointing to read where we have not met this goal.

Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me as I would like to be able to restore your confidence in the hotel and what we strive to deliver to our guests.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked our trip to Darwin without realising it would be Cup week! We then found it extremely difficult to find accommodation for the whole week we were staying - this hotel was the only one we found that had a room available so we booked it without doing much research. As it turned out, we were very happy with the hotel - it has a fantastic location on the Esplanade, just a short stroll to the best bars & restaurants. The staff were fantastic. It does need a bit of modernisation, but our room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin. We are continuing to refresh our hotel with our new bathrooms starting to come on line from November of this year.

The team and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a good hotel, especially if you love a warm cookie on arrival. My room was adequate and definitely met my needs. I would question the value of breakfast if you aren't planning to eat a lot. Views from the room were quite lovely and I was only on the first floor. Staff were very frienly and helpful. Overall, a good experience; although I would question the value of the hotel if I was paying for myself. This is Darwin, though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Mary K

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin.

We do also have an a la carte breakfast available should you not wish to indulge in the "Wake Up" DoubleTree by Hilton buffet breakfast. There is a great range of options to choose from and it is a great alternative for those who don't wish to indulge every day.

Thanks again and we hope to see you when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you like staying in 1982 you'll love this hotel. It's tired and dated. The bathroom is beyond even looking nice. The mattresses haven't been changed in forever. It was hands down the worst night sleep I've ever had. You'd be better off crossing the road and sleeping in the longgrass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Laurel M

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us and I was sorry to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Please be assured that I will personally inspect this room and take the appropriate action to rectify any issues.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location of Motel excellent. Service by motel staff was excellent; Room service very prompt. However considering the price of the room and self rating; I believe the room / amenities are in need of an upgrade. The air con vent was very dirty. Room cleanliness average. Bathroom fixtures dated. Water pressure in shower poor; shower curtain needed replacing

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cecily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear CecilyL

Thank you for your comments about the excellent service extended to you by the team. Our bathrooms will be completely modernised with our impending refurbuishments in November, I hope you will be able to return to us to experience them.

We hope to see you again soon at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I cannot believe that Hilton put its name to this hotel. It is very much in need of renovation or demolition. The public areas are tired looking but the real let down is the rooms.
They are very dated and are not cleaned properly. The bathroom is a shower over a bath with no water pressure and a revolting shower curtain.
Reception staff where pleasant when you could get to them but they seemed under staffed.
The upside of this hotel is its location on The Esplanade and its easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. I had beautiful views to the water.
I know this was tourist high season but the rate charged was a complete and utter rip-off. I read in the NT News that tourist numbers are down. To me it is no surprise considering what hotels are restaurants are charging.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#17 of 36 in Darwin
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $100 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minute drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a suite for stunning harbor views and a separate living area. Studio lofts are also available. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. Dine al fresco on the sun-soaked terrace of our poolside restaurant and bar, Aqua, where you can enjoy dishes prepared with Mediterranean and Territory influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing