We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$163
$143
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$127
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$73
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Elan Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra on the Esplanade(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$163
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$114
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$136
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$100
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$127
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
234
446
340
116
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
446
340
116
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treemitchell streetacross the roadgreat poolbit datedesplanadefoyerparklandpositionharbourpubskakaducbd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Front the moment of arrival the service has been excellent , nothing has been too much trouble. Lovely suite with all that you need and especially with a 2 year old having the plunge pool safety on the outdoor area that only an adult can open and plenty of space in the suite for him to happily get around and not get bored. The food is priced well , the housekeeping staff and food service members have been a delight. The knowledge of the reception staff has been great . The wave pool is only a short stroll away , esplanade across the road and Mitchell ST is at the back of the hotel. The pool is closed for renovation BUT you can use the holiday inn next door , once the pool is back open it will be awesome it's very big and a lovely big area not like other hotels. Carparking is not a problem at all. Renovations are always required however $$ the price I found is right for this property.We initially were only going to stay 1 night but now 3 nights and as a frequent traveller in the Hospitality / Tourism industry I cannot fault the Holiday Inn Esplande. Keep up the great work !!

For travellers to Darwin reading these reviews and getting stressed on where to stay in a safe ,clean, hospitable environment here it is

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyzafletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Apologies for the delay in our response. I have listened and engagaed those reviewers around you put missed you......SORRY.

Darwin and Kakadu are empty at this time of year. 7 months of the year you will find the Top End to be the Greatest value in the world...............nature/natural and outback attractions that are world class.

Really look foreard to you returning and responding personally.

Hope you have a great xmas and new year break.


with best
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The rooms and fixtures are dated. The shower was appalling next to no water pressure and not enjoyable. Tv was also fuzzy and not a good volume. The room had stylish shutters over the windows but the motel out side light shone into the room, it would be great if fitted with shades.

The bed and pillows were great with a selection of soft or firm. The air condition worked well maybe too well, at time I didn't want to go outside. The room service take away was very tasty and the follow up phone call to check the meal was ok was appreciated.

I would stay there again but would like some fixture up dates.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

I am sure you will get record helpfull votes from the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We are delighted with the review and greatly appreciative of the comments.

Did you book thru Holidayinn.com? Have you joined our loyalty program...Priority Club rewards?

Apologies for the delay in my response. Wishing you all the best for your next review.
The Holiday Inn team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel is in a great location with the front entrance on the esplanade and the back entrance on Mitchell Street, so easy access to restaurants etc. Friendly efficient check-in and cleaning staff and nice rooms. Great that the rooms come with a fridge as means, in addition to the mini bar, you can keep other stuff in there (which given the Darwin climate is crucial). Swimming pool was closed for renovation, but access given to the Holiday Inn next door and the waves pool down by the harbour. Breakfast is ok, does have a decent amount of options for vegetarians.

My only gripe about this place is that they play music in the reception area all night. Having woken up at 4am due to jet lag and unable to get back to sleep because of the music this is not at all good. When I went down to complain, the initial reaction was that 'nobody has ever complained before', although they did then offer to turn it down. Off would be better, as I see no need for things that may keep customers awake at night, as that is certainly not what I look for in any hotel, let alone a Holiday Inn. Likely to stay there again, but will make sure I have ear plugs packed in my luggage.

Room Tip: As far away from the reception area as possible to avoid the noise
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

I promise on your next stay you will not need earplugs.

We are all delighted the trip went so well.Darwin is an amazing city 12 months of the year.

Have you joined Priority Club Rewards?

very best wishes with your next review.
The Holiday Inn Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a well run hotel. The management should be proud of their work. The staff is uniformly courteous and friendly, Breakfast is efficiently organised and the food is fine. The rooms are functional and clean. Housekeeping is high standard. It is an ld property, but is well maintained. My only gripe was the old TV, more a relic than a centre of in-room entertainment. Other than that I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you.
We all hope you return. Have you tried our Crowne Plaza in Alice Springs?

All the best for 2013.

The Holiday Inn Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a few days prior to going to Kakadu. It was a very pleasant hotel in a good position with large rooms and a comfortable bed. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean but a little tired and the wash basin was cracked. The towels on the first day were rather grey and tatty but improved from then on. I feel this was geared towards the businessman in which case the facilities were excellent. Unfortunately the pool was out of action whilst we were there but we had various options and compensation in the shape of a free drink. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolklady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Warm greetings from the stunning Top End of Australia.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have many business folk stay with us especially mid week. Because of our facilites......big pool and big gym and self laundry....tourists and leisure guests are still our most important guests.

The value for money in darwin right now and for the next 6 months makes us just ideal for a return visit or a recommendation to friends/family. I can promise how great value darwin is during december january febraury march april.

Easter is in March this year........much earlier than usual.

Did you join Priority Club Rewards?

All the best with your next review for the Trip advisor community.
The Holiday Inn Esplanade Team and Andrew..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews