We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Elan Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$163
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$114
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$130
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on the Esplanade(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$123
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$152
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
234
446
340
116
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
446
340
116
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treemitchell streetacross the roadgreat poolbit datedesplanadefoyerparklandpositionharbourpubskakaducbd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Esplanade for business on and off over 4 years and up till now have enjoyed the place even though it is little outdated. Arrived last Sunday and decided to take my grandson in for a swim in the kiddies pool. I sliced open my big toe on a broken tile in the pool, which in hind sight required a stitch. In discussion with staff who bandaged the cut if transport was available to take me to the hospital and the response from management was they accept no LIABILITY. I am employed by a large corporation and will make it known to our travel advisors the assistance i did not recieve.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank 255066Peterjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Congratulations on your very first tripadvisor review.

We hope you will be a valuable part of the growing Tripadvisor community. Please dont hesitate to contact me if i can be of any assitance in the future. I will try and contact you directly.

Now that you have your first review completed it will be much easier to share your travels and recommendations. Over 75,000,000 reviews have been completed to help traveller!

With Thanks
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

my 12 year old granddaughter and i stayed here for 4 nights. beautiful location, very friendly helpful staff. beds very comfortable and even a bath in the bathroom. only downside the price and the lovely pool needs quite a few tiles repaired.

Room Tip: i did ask for a balcony overlooking the harbour, but i believe because of cyclones this does not exist.we were on 2nd floor as i had requested not too high and overlooked the pool. not aware of any noise coming in.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coralie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for the special note......which rooms travellers prefer.....which is of increasing importance for Tripadvisor community and will continue to grow.

The team were delighted with your ranking.THANK YOU.

Did you and grandaughter get a chance to visit Kakadu? How about Alice Springs?

all the best for your next review.
Holiday Inn Team and Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Bed was really comfy, the room had no balcony or view (just to the next door flats) was this because our booking was a package - Don't know, the TV was from the Ark, the room was very clean but needing a makeover as it wasn't very modern, our room was about 80 metres from the lift & that's fine if you don't have arthritis in your feet, reception staff were ok, parking fantastic, great location to all shops & attractions & we ran out of cold water on our first night there but that was rectified within 1/2 hour..would probably look at staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Gail59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Please try the stunning Holiday Inn next door at 122 The Esplanade.refurbished recently with stunning views from the balcony and big open doors for that dry season breeze.Holiday Inn Darwin has been rated number 2 for much of the past 18 months in Darwin by your fellow tripadvisor reviewers.

Thank you for the kind comments about reception staff and parking.I am very sorry about the hot water issue as we had to work on the ''pump/valves''..which we fixed pretty quickly.

Please also try the number one ranked Hotel in Darwin for the past 2 odd years.....The stunning location of Crowne Plaza Darwin.

Have you joined Priority Club Rewards? I recommend a frequent traveller like yourself joins.

Please give me a second chance at another of our hotels in Darwin.If i can be of any assistance with your next booking please dont hesitate to contact me directly.

with kind regards
with THANKS

The Holiday Inn teams and Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location right on the Esplanade makes this hotel. Beautiful parkland just across the road. Also conveniently located for main nightlife area and shops. Can't recall anything especially good or bad about the hotel itself, but it was fine. Note that there are two Holiday Inns right next to one another, which is very confusing when checking in.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

I am sure you will not be happy with the city of Manchester winning the Premiership again! Albiet even if the wrong side of Manchester!!!!!

Thank you for your review.Hopefully you arrived at the right Holiday inn.Both have unique styles and unique selling points.

Did you get to any of the Alice Springs attractions? A stunning variety from Solar to bush walking to racing in a river bed to Camel racing.

Wishing you all the best on your next reviews.
The Holiday Inn Team and Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Has a very 80's feel, and is due for renovation. In August, the $275 a night price tag is heavy, but the market does dictate the price at that time of year. Having said that, the quality of linen, pillows, towels & toiletries was great. The reception staff were helpful & welcoming (even in the midnight to 2am timeframe when I had the most contact). The breakfast however was not great as most of the selections were cold (eg bacon, and eggs).

The location is great. I would stay here again, but would definitely skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachykeen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear BK70,

Thank you for understanding Darwins pricing.Darwin is the cheapest.......i mean the very very best value october november december january febraury march april every single year since at least 1988.It is very difficult to run a business that has such a seasonal bias.

I cannot understand how a climate can influence purchase behaviour as it does in Darwin and indeed Kakadu.London is always raining and cold!!!!!!!!New York the same! or too Hot.

The experiences available in Kakadu are stunning 12 months of the year.The same for Dashing Darwin.

We were delighted with your comment about linen towells and pillow quality.These are global Holiday Standards that we know are crictical to guest stays and returning.

I am very very sorry about the breakfast experience.It just should not happen.When Buffet demand is reduced we clearly have to offer a la carte breakfast and /or keep the food fresh and hot.I am following this up.

Did you spend enough time in Kakadu?

Thank you for coming to the TOP END.
with best The holiday inn team and andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews