We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but Maintenance Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 week at the Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin the rooms were adequate, however the housekeeping and overall repair of the property/hotel was poor.

The rooms were quickly serviced each day with no dusting, limited restocking of tea, coffee and other supplies. The sheets were changed, about day 4 but only after I complained to the duty manager.

The pool and garden area was lovely however the pool its self needed repair to replace the missing/broken tiles. My wife and I stopped swimming in it after she cut her foot when in the pool. In the hallway there were blown light bulbs and some areas needed repainting.

Service in the hotel restaurant was good with helpful staff and a lovely breakfast buffet. The front counter staff were pleasant and willing to help.

The view from the room balcony was beautiful, overlooking Fanny bay and the CBD.

The hotel was central for walking around Darwin (CBD) and my wife and I did feel safe doing so.

On check out the hotel duty manager did discounted the room rate due to the concerns/complaints raised during our stay, this was a nice gesture that was appreciated however overall maintenance and staff training is still required.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Top Contributor,
Dear Spiceoflifetravel,

I am planning to go to Hobart so i will have a really good look at your review of the Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour.

We are very gratefull for your review. Thank you for the feedback. I have taken note of all your comments.

If i can assist with any future bookings or travel in the Northern Territory please do not hesitate to contact me.

If you dont mind me saying so some of your photos you have posted are STUNNING.

Have you joined Priority Club Rewards?
Have you looked at our new website....Holidayinn.com?

The Duck about tour in Darwin is pretty unique and one of Darwins most sought after tours........hopefully this made up for the slowness.

I will finish up by thanking you for the review and please dont hesitate to contact me if you have the time.

All the best for your next review
Andrew and TEAM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for work - never again. My too
Smelt as though there was mould or damp in the air con system, which was also very noisy.
The service at check in was fine, but when I raised an issue I had with the washing machine, the response was les than helpful.
The waiting staff in the restaurant were. Very slow (there were only two small tables
An average stag

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTraveller0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Great to see you are back in the TRIPADVISOR reviewing mood again.

Thank you for staying with us in September 2011.

I am very sorry about the issue with the washing machine and airconditioning.Please dont hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further. We usually get great comments about the team.

Please give me a second chance so you be able to consider an improved review after your next trip.

Have you joined Priority Club Rewards? We have a stunning new Holidayinn.com website which will help you in any booking in Auckland or Australia or worldwide. But if you return to Darwin please contact me directly so i can take personal responsibility for you reservation.

Wishing you all the best for the net review.

Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Older traditional styling (some may debate update required) a specialy the spa next to the pool missing tiles • clean and well maintained rooms • ocean room view more then lived up to expectation . • room spacious • bed firm and comfortable staff friendly - lifts in close vicinity to room this is in a great location - close to Mitchell street great breakfast at Ducks Nutts & Dinner at Hanuman for dinner best in Darwin close to all shops yet on the edge of town activity, And dont forget the Mindil Market last Thursd-in April to the last Thursd in Oct if you are a visitor to Darwin this is a Have to do only a $10 taxi fare from centre of Town We will return

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GERRY3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

We all hope you enjoy being a Tripadvisor reviewer.

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn. We are delighted to hear you will return.I really recommend you join Priority Club Rewards. Our loyalty program voted best in the world.

I would be delighted to help you with any tours you may need. eg Jumping Croc on the way to stunning Kakadu.

Appreciate the comments about the ''attractions'' and ''things to do'' while in Darwin.Did you do an Adelaide River Queen cruise which is highly recommended.

Wishing you all the best with your next review.
Team Holiday Inn Esplanade Darwin and Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It fronts on The Esplanade and backs up to the concert hall and Mitchell Street. A good base from which to walk or get public transportation. They tout Internet access in rooms, but it turns out WiFi is available only in lobby area. But hey, it's Darwin, and we shouldn't expect cutting edge technology here.

The hotel staff seems eager but inexperienced and maybe overworked. Got guidance from the reception desk to an attraction that hadn't yet opened for the season. Reported non-functioning light and torn shower curtain but nothing was done to address the problems. As a solo traveler, service in the dining room suggested I had become invisible. After I raised the issue twice, however, they did undertake a sincere effort to make it up to me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImpulsiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

9 helpfull votes already......congratulations.

Great to see you experienced the Ghan.

Thank you for commenting about our eager team and the sincere efforts.Apologies if i seem to work them to hard.

Great reviews for the Darwin Museum and ART GALLERY.

Did you get a chance to stay 3/4 nites and experience Kakadu? Did you experience the new Yellow Water Wetlands night cruise?

Apologies for my lack of follow up during your stay with the housekeeping.I will be sure to follw this up.

The Team wishes you all the best for your next review and 2012 travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Recently stayed with my husband for 6 days and found the hotel to be in a great location. Located on the Esplanade, this hotel backs onto Mitchell Street also which is one of the main streets in CBD Darwin which made life easier. The staff were very friendly and helpful at every turn, and even moved us to a different room when we found our air-con to be warmer than usual.

The hotel has seen better days though and there are signs of wear and tear throughout. Our shower screen leaked, the carpet aged with signs of cleaned-up graffiti, the pool was missing tiles and light cords hanging out, and peeling paint just a few of the signs of age we noticed.

I should note though that if these things don't bother you it is a nice place to stay with all your basic amenities, the biggest pool in Darwin, friendly staff and a choice of pillows (firm or soft).
The breakfast is nice and 20mins free wifi access per day (downstairs only).

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level, water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellykinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear senior contributer<

Thank you for the FRIENDLY STAFF.

Thank you for staying 6 nights.

Any reviews for Kakadu or other darwin attractions?
Internationally recognised.
A quick note about amazing Kakadu......Biodiversity is the variety of life.....the different plants animals insects and all other life forms.The ecosystems that are part of kakadus stunning biodiversity.......internationally recognised.Please let us assist you if you need advice or help in booking a trip to Kakadu. Have you heard about the new stars evening Yellow Waters Wetlands Cruise?

I HOPE YOU ENJOY WRITING MORE REVIEWS.We really appreciate the time spent on Holiday Inn Esplanade.

The team wishes you all the best for the rest of 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Recently stayed here twice in 2 weeks. First room had a restricted view of water outlook but second room was on top floor with full water/park views. Very helpful and informed staff who were extremely friendly. Pool was superb with plenty of lounges/chairs and fresh towels available. Rooms were very clean and spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. Only disappointment was the old style TV with limited channels and windows needed a clean on the outside to enjoy the view. Definitely would return for central and quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosebud3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Amazing Holiday inn Esplanade headline......THANK YOU.

The team are delighted.
FRIENDLY and HELPFULL.........THANK YOU FOR SAYING YOU WILL RETURN.

Have you been to amazing Ubirr?
have you been to stunning Nourlangie?
Wonderful swimming at Maguk?...........Gunlom?.......Gubara?
Covering 20,000 sq kilometres........Kakadu is one of the very few places world heritage listed for both it cultural and natural beauty.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

quite bland 80's decor, but an easy place to stay. very friendly and helpful staff.
no wifi in the rooms, just LAN points, which is a problem for anyone with ipads or other wireless only devices. the 'business centre is a room with 2 iMacs and a printer, with 20mins free access. decent breakfast.
good location, backs onto the main street with Coles around the corner, pubs, shops, etc..
taxi from the airport was about $27-

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Have you heard about the new stunning Yellow Water Night Cruise?

Great to see you have completed 4 reviews in 2012. Hope you have got the tripadvisor review passion back after no reviews in 2011.

Already you have 2 helpfull votes..........I am sure you find Tripadvisor reviews very valuable. We know that Tripadvisor is becoming more and more important in the decision making process for travellers.

Very friendly and very helpfull.......THANK YOU......Our team are delighted. We are very very happy to get such comments. We understand that we are competing with newly refurbished Hotels such as Holiday Inn Darwin and Crowne Plaza darwin.........Both are ranked number one and number two in Darwin. We do have upgrade plans for 2013.

Thank you for the great location comment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need assistance booking the stunning Yellow Waters cruise............Yellow Waters is the most amazing wetlands cruise in Australia.......Please try the dawn and dust cruise.

Yellow Waters also has a brand new NIGHT CRUISE . I cannot believe how different each cruise is. The wetlands of Yellow Waters are breathtaking under the stars.

Wishing you all the best for the next review you write for 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
1 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $102 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minutes drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing