We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nice hotel in a great spot in the centre of Darwin. Check the specials for excellent value. Rooms are clean, a good size and well furnished. Bathrooms are fine, with separate shower and bath, but may appear a little dated in some respects. However, everything works just fine.

Would I stay here again? Of course, but I'd be looking for a sharp price.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 4th or 5th floor with views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliffie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

I promise to deliver even better Holiday Inn service to every guest from Tennant Creek. Please Please Please book on the Holiday Inn website and i promise the best price....in your words the SHARPEST PRICE......No where else do you get a better price than on our own website. If you join Priority Club Rewards then earn points for a future free stay. We really want more and more Tennant Creek guests.........especially in February March april and May ......the sharpest price on our Holiday Inn website....wishing you all the best for your next stay in Darwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

The rooms are good, looks like a refurbishment is close. The pool area and restaurant are pleasant spots to sit and enjoy a drink and a meal. Service to room is good.

Room Tip: Go the Executive Suites, the extra room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Great Headline........As a Senior Contributor we are really pleased with the feedback. I note you are from Tennant Creek.....Please spread the word!!!!!......We would be dleighted to be known as the Hotel from all Tennant Creek residents. Priority Club Rewards and the Holiday Inn website should meet all your travel neeeds for your next trip. Please dont hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance for your next trip or bookings. The Crowne Plaza Darwin i would also recommend. Thank you and very best Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Outdated. Rooms are dirty. Walls and crapets are stained. Room smells of mold. Yuck. Pillows are good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

I am very sorry about my delayed response. The headline is very disappointing and i would really like to ask for a second chance.I am really sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have 2 other Hotels in Darwin......The Crowne Plaza darwin and The Holiday Inn Darwin...next door to us at 122 the Esplanade. I would really like to discuss any other feedback you might have and i can give you an update of the refurbishment plans for The Hotel. Even though our hardware is not as new as many our team really try to provide a great service experience. I would really like to thank you for taking the time to write the review as the comments all help me to improve the Business. with kind regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here a while back in 2009 the service was good and loved the pillow menu. The only downside was that the smoke alarm went off twice during our stay 11.30pm and 6.30 the next morning. The rooms where clean and had a great water view. The pool was nice and refreshing and the restaurant had a great menu. The location is good with good walking distance to the markets. The interior was a bit dated and the rooms had a bit of a smell to them. But our stay was good and we enjoyed our 3 nights at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was base for a great week in Darwin. Hotel facilites were fine and nothing to really complain about - although perhaps could have been a little more central.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I Stayed at the Holiday Inn Oct 28-31 for a brief stay - but was extended by 2 days due to the QANTAS dispute. Firstly, I must say that during the turmoil the guys on reception (Mitch, Dan, Isha & Marissa in particular) were extremely helpful and informative with respect to my extended stay. I could not have asked for more updated information and flexibility with my accomodation.
Now the Hotel, the room was open, spacious and clean. The desk chair material was a little frayed in one corner but did not pose a problem. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillows. The Ensuite was also clean, large with shower and bath along with plenty of towels. The room was serviced very well daily as a well as the morning newspaper delivered daily. I would have preferred a cooler setting on the Air Con.
Breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of choice. The lady in charge was very pleasant and friendly to all guests.
Dining was a bit of a dissapointment, being a solo traveller I found the restaurant was empty and void of atmosphere at the time I prefered to dine - so I never dined there but I am told the food was very nice. The coctail bar was the same very quiet. Was a little disappointed in being served coctails in a plastic glass, I can understad why because of no glass allowed around the pool area. The pool is large and open.
I booked a tour but unfortunately tour companies in Darwin do not pick up at the hotel so I had to find my own way to the departure point which is a little daunting when you dont know Darwin well. Being told the pick up point is behind Shenannigans or Chilli Backpackers means absolutely nothing to me!
All in all, Darwin is now a vibrant and attractive City and I look forward to returning and staying at the Holiday Inn again
Once again - special thanks go to the guys on reception.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlaninOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

25 helpfull votes already. CONGRATULATIONS. The team are delighted in the recogntion you have given them. I will be sure to recognise them as well. It is a very tough market in NT so it is even more important we deliver on the service. I will make sure our tours/attractions get your feedback about pickups. Thank you for the Food and Beverage comments. I am delighted the airline issue was handled to your expectation. Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Holiday Inn Esplanade is in an ideal position for access to all the restaurants and bars in Mitchell Street and far enough away to be isolated from the noise. The hotel is quite spacious and the rooms are well appointed with all amenities, The pool area is clean and the service is very good. The exterior is starting to look a lttle tired and could do with a good scrub and paint job. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Try for a higher room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Senior Contributor. PLEASE PLEASE try the Intercontinental Melbourne on your next visit to Melbourne. We also have the Holiday Inn on Flinders. Great Hotels and great locations. Priority Club Rewards will provide the recognition and FF points. THANK YOU for the review. I have taken note of your comments. Wishing you all the best on your next review. Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
1 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $102 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minutes drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing