We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We are Darwin residents who regularly take a break and stay in the city. As Priority Club members we received an offer to stay here. We usually stay here or Crowne Plaza. Booked in early and offered a late check out at 2pm the following day whichwas gratefully accepted. Up-side: great staff - very efficient and friendly. Poolside bar does very good service (try the tempura prwns). Great location. Comfy beds and clean rooms. Downside: rooms starting to look dated - would probably expect a plasma TV in a hotel of this standard, room lacked a bot of atmosphere. However, on the whole a very enjoyable stay with great staff

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
9 helpfull votes already.......I have a capital review meeting next month to review the introdution of the ''plasmatv''. This is a consistent comment from many of our guests.Your comment will help me get the neccessary approvals. Holiday Inn Esplanade really are very very very pleased to see you have taken the time to review our Holiday Inn. Our aim is to be NUMBER ONE..........or at the very least be the number one IHG hotel in Darwin! A little bit of competition with the Crowne Plaza Darwin.......one of our sister hotels who is number 3 ranked. Please dont hesitate to contact me on your next stay in a Holiday inn if you have any special requests.
with best
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    405
    283
    98
    57
See reviews for
159
366
85
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I booked a room here for my elderly mother and I, and requested a two bed room with a walk in shower. When we arrived they had booked us a room with one bed. Very apologetic, but provided a rollaway.

Room was spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of room for the rollaway which was very comfortable.

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Bathroom a little dated, but adequate.

Great location.

No problem recommending this hotel, but if you have special requests, I'd suggest calling a day or two before to ensure it is all ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMFonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Holiday Inn Esplanade really could not ''afford'' to get such a priceless headline you have provided. Our team are very proud of the review you have given us and the headline. We were wondering if you did go to KAKADU? An essentail part of any trip to the Top End. I sincerely apologise for getting you reservation wrong and am delighted that it did not impact your experience/stay too much. Freemantle is very much in the news if you are a AFL fan............Ross Lyon for Mark Harvey in changing Dockers coaches.....Big news for many who are AFL fans........We hope you will return to Holiday Inn and stay with us next time. with many thnaks and best for rest of 2011 Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed with my family for two nights in August. We got wonderful rooms, excellent service and would highly recommend the place. The location is such that it's and easy walk to some great restaurants and the city centre with a park across the road for walks or runs. We did not try the in house restaurant but it looked OK.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumbooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are delighted with you taking the time to review Holiday Inn Esplande. This has really helped our ranking. A mini competition exists with Holiday Inn Darwin next door to see who is ranked highest. Hopefully you have joined Priority Club Rewards and will gain points when you next stay at one of our hotels. Hopefully your children will become Holiday inn advocates at well!!!!!..........very best for the rest of 2011 and thank you for taking the time to write a review........with best Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was the first holiday my husband and I have had in over five years. We had two weeks in Darwin we thought we would spend the last week in a really nice place and it was. We were in room 503, the first night I was lucky to get two hours sleep the same for nights two and three. There was a constant squeaking noise and also a loud humming noise on and off all night. The next day I went to reception and said I was not sleeping well and was told we were right near the service lift and that we would be moved. Every time I went back to reception to find out what was happening, nobody knew, it was always a different person. I know I should have pressed the point but by then we only had one night to stay. I left feeling absolutely exhausted, looking forward to a good nights sleep at home.

Room Tip: Request a room well away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
i am so very sorry that we did not deliver a great nites sleep. Could i please ask for a second chance? i will try to contact you directly. Thank you for telling me about your stay. I look foreward to dicusing what we are doing about and i look foreward to apologising personally. with kind regards Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms in refurbished hotel opposite parkland, near buzzing Mitchell Street. Overlooking Arafura Sea, many rooms have ocean views. Huge infinity pool and lovely restaurant featuring Asian-fusion cuisine. Close to Darwin's excellent bus system. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
The team are delighted that you have given us a great review. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Our location between Mitchell street and the Esplanade is a major feature. If you return to Darwin please dont hesitate to contact us. I would recommend Kakadu as being a very special place in February and March Wishing you all the best for your next trip. Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were in Darwin for 3 nights and for 3 days we asked the hotel to do something about the air conditioning in our room (it was too cold), although the front desk staff was very keen to help, nothing got done. We could not turn the aircon off, we could not adjust it, it was not comfortable to sit in the room for any length of time and we woke up with headaches each morning from the cold blowing on our heads.
The rooms are in need of updating, especially the bathrooms (I've not seen a smaller shower cubicle with shower curtains in decades. The internet is not free in your room (you can get 20 minutes in the hotel lobby if you have a laptop).
The staff seem great, but the facilities are not. Not good enough for a 4 star property and too expensive to be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer, I do believe you!.Many come to Darwin and dont pack a jumper/jersey. It can go as low as 21 degrees in the evening and early morning. I do apologise that we did not fix the temperature of your room. If you have the time to review any other attractions that would be of great assistance to us all. Did you get to go to Kakadu ? On your next trip to the NT i would be more than happy to help you plan your trip. Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2011. Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

First off, there are two Holiday Inns next to each other on the Esplanade, making it confusing when directing business associates to your hotel. This one is the lower-rise hotel that seems to be part of a failed "entertainment complex." The rest of the complex is mostly empty commercial space, except for a very good and popular Asian restaurant.

The lobby is spacious and the rooms nice enough, although hotel layout makes many rooms far removed from the elevators. Also, the plantation shutters in the rooms may keep out the harsh sun and provide privacy from rooms in the adjoining wing, but they also make the rooms feel dark and claustrophobic. The old-fashioned tube-TV was a surprise, and while it was nice to have separate shower and tub in the bathroom, the shower provided no place to put the soap/shampoo and the flimsy curtain caused the room to get wet.

Worst of all, the queen bed was badly bowed from wear on the "telephone side." I was staying alone, so I moved to the less worn side, but it was still not very comfortable--and the quality of the bed is what I most judge a hotel on. (From here I stayed in a Rydges Hotel in Canberra and had one of the most comfortable hotel beds ever.) The breakfast buffet was over-priced and mediocre--cold eggs and dry pastries that seemed to be day-old, off-the-shelf from the supermarket.

It was also frustrating for me, as I was planning to work in my room, but could only access wireless internet from the lobby. My new MacBook Air does not accommodate an ethernet cable, and there was not a USB adaptor to be had in all of Darwin--I spent a whole day looking, and couldn't get one until I got to Canberra. Thus, I had to work in the lobby, where there was 20 min. free wireless before high per-minute rates kicked in.

On the positive side, the pool area is very nice, and there are accommodating exercise and laundry rooms. That said, it's all about the bed, and this hotel doesn't deliver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBayliss, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Senior Contributor, I am very sorry i have missed such a basic item as replacing a bed.Hopefully you have had a safe trip home after such a long trip.
We will go out and replace the bed immediately. Thank you for writing the review. I did an audit of our beds last year. We could not agree more that the bed experience is absolutely critcial to the experience........................It was wonderfull to see you have returned to the NT after reviewing Yulara and Alice Springs in 2010 .I would have recommended the Crowne Plaza Alice Springs as the best resort offering in Alice Springs. Have you had a chance to go to Kakadu? If you would allow me to assist with you planning of a future trip to KAKADU that would be a great opportunity for us to acknowledge the thanks for the time spent doing a reviw on Holiday Inn Esplanade........You already have several helpfull comments from fellow travellers which is great recognition. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you return to DARWIN as i would be delighted to meet with you. Wishing you all th best for the rest of your travels in 2011. Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minute drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a suite for stunning harbor views and a separate living area. Studio lofts are also available. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. Dine al fresco on the sun-soaked terrace of our poolside restaurant and bar, Aqua, where you can enjoy dishes prepared with Mediterranean and Territory influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing