We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai food”
Review of Golden Orchid

Golden Orchid
Ranked #118 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great authentic Thai food in Darwin, good value for money and friendly staff. Highly recommended for a quiet night out or larger group these guys are very accommodating :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethatTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After waiting for 30 minutes we had to tell the waitress we were ready to order. Some of us ordered a main and some an entree. We asked for them to come at the same time but it didn't. When we asked for dessert it arrived but the first course had not been removed. I had to move our main course plates to the next empty table. Very disappointed as the food was excellent and the setting was brilliant. It was just the lack of service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthBids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food, service a little off”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Golden Orchid Restaurant in Cullen bay has a great location looking out into the marina. The food really is fantastic, we have not had a bad experience yet. The service however needs some work. You must make sure that they understand what you want as they tend to assume and then get it wrong. Other than that give the place a go. The breakfast and the seafood Laksa would be the highlights for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmore aust
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have the fish you have caught cooked for you”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had some fantastic meals here, I ended up taking 3 different fish I caught and we had them over three nights. All were great but our Favorite was the barra , they cooked it up so we had chilli fish and tom yum soup all out of the the one fish , the chilli fish was so good (and so much of it) we took it back to the apartment and had it the next day.Would just like to thank the owners and staff as nothing was too much trouble. Will be back next time in Cullen bay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wazjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The service was very second rate, but the food was on the whole good. Sadly overall it was our least favourite dining experience at Cullen Bay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharonp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Golden Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing